LibGuides: Strategic Communication: PR and Advertising: Article / Book Databases

Types of Research - Scholarly

Types of Research

Quantitative - information collected and numerically represented

surveys
questionnaires
content analysis
longitudinal analysis
experiments - experimental condition & control group

Qualitative - information collected by observation & interpretive approaches

participant observation
interviews
focus groups
ethnography

Source: Universal Accreditation Board, Accredited in Public Relations presentation.

Research Journals

Here is a sampling of strat comm academic/research journals:

Butler's Library Catalog - find ebooks, journal articles, and media.

Begin your search here: WorldCat Discovery-a mega search tool!

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Entrepreneurial Studies Source offers full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, as well as case studies and company profiles related to entrepreneurship and small businesses.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window
SMA is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directories.

Subject Listing of Databases
A complete listing of subscription-based databases available to Butler students, faculty and staff.

The IABC Handbook of Organizational Communication by Tamara Gillis; IABC
ISBN: 9781118016336
Publication Date: 2011-03-21
The AMA Handbook of Public Relations by Robert L. Dilenschneider
Call Number: Link leads to ebook available with Butler University credentials.
ISBN: 9780814415269
Publication Date: 2010-02-10
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies by Holly Selden (Editor)
Call Number: Link leads to ebook available with Butler University credentials.
ISBN: 9781414499215
Publication Date: 2013-06-13
Bacon's Media Directories by Cision, Inc.
Call Number: Reference Area P88.8 .B33
Mulitple volumes covering: magazines, newspapers, tv/cable, radio, and the internet.

Case Studies

Databases that contain Case Studies

SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases provides access to 1,700 business cases in national and international business. A source for discovering best practices and learning from unsuccessful ventures. Written in both short vignettes to long narrative form, and written using field research and publicly available sources, business case topics include marketing, operations management, small business & entrepreneurship, international business, human resource management, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.

TIPS:

To find case studies in the ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete databases, select the Advanced Search option. Then enter your keyword and select the option to filter results by document or publication type for "Case Study." You can also enter "case studies" in the search box and select "subject terms" in the dropdown box for field type.
Teaching notes are available for case studies found in the Sage Business Cases database. Contact your Librarian for a code to access teaching notes.
Note: You will find Harvard cases in Business Source Complete, but to comply with the policy set by Harvard Business Publishing, you should not distribute these cases (in print or electronically) for course readings. Harvard cases are not sold to libraries, and must be purchased directly by the end user from Harvard Business Publishing for Educators.

Harvard Business Publishing has strict licensing terms regarding access and use of its case studies and articles. Harvard does not sell its cases to libraries. In addition, the cases cannot be placed on reserve at the library or distributed via interlibrary loan. To learn more about obtaining materials from Harvard Business Publishing, go to the site for Harvard Business Publishing for Educators (linked below).

*If you do not want to require your students to purchase commercial cases, such as those from Harvard Business Publishing, consider using one of the free resources linked on this LibGuide.

Harvard Business Publishing for Education

Case Centre Free Cases
LearningEdge (MIT) Case Studies
UCLA Statistics Case Studies
World Business Council for Sustainable Development Case Studies
Portland State University Case Studies Collection
Focus on social entrepreneurship and sustainability

Keeping Up-to-Date

Trade/Professional Magazines

Browse these professional journals to keep current on what what is happening in the Strat Comm world.

AdAge
AdAge.com provides online access to breaking news, editorials, and special reports on marketing/media issues and trends.

Butler Libraries has a subscription to AdAge's complete website content. Contact Librarian, Sally Neal, sneal@butler.edu, to obtain this login information.
Advertising Age
Indexed articles from AdAge website above. Name changed to AdAge in 2017.
Adweek
Public Relations Strategies and Tactics
Merged title of: Public Relations Strategist and Public Relations Tactics as of 2018.
PRWeek
PRWeek covers the modern business publishing brand, spanning online, print, events and social media coverage. Some content is behind an individual paywall subscription.

Citation Help

Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a trusted source for citation style instructions. As a librarian, this is the first page that I consult for citation help.

The American Psychological Association's APA Style website is a good place to refer to for citation guidance.

Strat Comm APA Citing Cheat Sheet
This Strat Comm/Arts Admin Citing Cheat Sheet, lists how to cite sources that Butler Libraries subscribes to such as Simmons, Business Source Complete, GuideStar, etc. This guide is based off the Purdue OWL's APA Citing Style Guide.

Strategic Communication: PR and Advertising: Article / Book Databases