Skip to main content

Sycamore School Research Visit: Butler Resources

Prepared for the January Butler Field Trip for Sycamore's Sixth Graders.

Trip Loves the Library

Trip the Bulldog Mascot

Tripforcalendar0814 026 by Butler University. All Rights Reserved.

During Today's Visit

Permalink, copy and paste, download, email, bookmark, saveWhile on campus, you have been given guest access to our many databases and online resources. Butler students pay for this access as part of their tuition.

When you leave today, you will not be able to access many of the resources on this page - it will ask you for a username and password.

So during your visit, it's important that you download and save the full text of your resources as much as possible. Or, if not possible, read the source, take good notes, and make sure you write down all the citation information you'll need later. 

Also, the resources on the next tab (Free Resources) you will continue to have access to after your visit. We recommend that you start with the Butler stuff first!

Created using Wordle - © 2013 Jonathan Feinberg

Use the WorldCat Discovery search box to the right to find books owned by Butler Libraries. If you're wanting just books in the building, you can:

  • Check Irwin Library in the top left column of the results page
  • Make sure only the Book option is checked in the Format column on the left

When you search, it will confirm that an item is a book under the title and author's name. It will also show you that the item is owned by Butler Libraries. If you see something other than Butler listed (WorldCat Libraries or PALNI), this means we don't actually own a copy here.

If Butler owns it, you can click on the Availability link to see more detail. This will tell you whether or not the book is currently checked out and where it is on the shelves. Write down or take a picture of all of this information.

We're happy to help you find where something is within the building - just ask!  You are not able to check items out, but we can also show you how to use our scanner that will send PDF copies to your email. 

Screenshot of Nelson Mandela book in WorldCat Discovery

Use the WorldCat Discovery search box to the right to find ebooks owned by Butler Libraries. If you only want to search for ebooks, you can:

  • Check Irwin Library in the top left column of the results page
  • Make sure only the eBook option is checked in the Format column on the left

When you search, it will confirm that an item is a ebook under the title and author's name. It will also show you that the item is owned by Butler Libraries. If you see something other than Butler listed (WorldCat Libraries or PALNI), this means we don't actually have access to the ebook.

If Butler owns it, you can click on the View Online button or the View Now link to get access to the ebook. Sometimes you  may have access from more than one resource, but selecting any link to View eBook should work.

Our eBooks come from several different sources. Nearly all of them allow you to view the book in an Internet browser. Some allow you to download individual chapters; some allow you to download the entire book. If you have questions about the ebook you've selected, you can check out our eBook LibGuide or ASK US!

Screenshot of Churchill ebook result in WorldCat Discovery

You can find articles in several ways:

  • Use the WorldCat Discovery search box to the right. Limit your search results to just articles in the Format menu on the left.
  • Use the recommended databases listed to the right.
  • Click on Databases by Subject in the box to the right. Then select a subject that aligns with your person/topic. Most of these resources are databases filled with articles.

When you select an article that looks interesting:

  • If you aren't brought directly to the text of the entire article, look for a link that says one of the following:
    • Full-text
    • PDF 
    • HTML
    • Full article 
  • If you want to be able to access it later, you need to download and save the article.  Sometimes you can email it to yourself and it will attach the full-text, but this is not always the case. Check your email before you navigate away from the page!  Bookmarking might be helpful when you go to cite the source, but the link alone is probably not going to be enough to get you back to the full text of the article.
Loading ...

WorldCat Discovery

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

Advanced SearchPowered by 

Databases

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter