The site may be searched by Series, Channels, Artists, and Partners (which leads the viewer to other online sources). One excellent feature is the site's presentation of high-resolution videos not found on other sites. Also, unlike other online sources, ArtBabble provides more in-depth information about the film clips, and other features, than most sites. (CHOICE Reviews)
They can then virtually explore the museum by walking through the galleries and selecting particular artworks to view more closely. Additionally, one or more images from each museum may be viewed at an extremely high resolution (between 7 billion and 14 billion pixels), an option that allows viewers to examine texture and see individual brushstrokes, for instance.
"To date, the alpha release of the collection database includes 60% of museum holdings, with jargon-free object information and downloadable digital images that are frequently of good quality." from M. Nilsen, IU, South Bend for CHOICE
The Gallery's Maps link goes directly to the overall library website, which features enlargeable images of more than 20,000 historical maps of Scotland. Most Gallery entries have links to additional resources, including other libraries and websites. Also available is a Browse the Digital Archive feature that leads to other digitized content from the library's collections.
This website will be particularly valuable for professionals interested in learning about human-computer interaction and for educators interested in guiding students to excellent, free resources in this area.
Beyond its professional value to designers and students in the graphic and visual arts, the site's coverage of significant topics, timely articles, and digitized media in the Design Archives will be important across all academic disciplines.
(from D.A. Berona for CHOICE).
The map of Chicagoland has locations pinpointed that can be scrolled over, revealing a photo of the artwork, its location, the lead artist, the date of its creation and a brief explanation of the artwork. The Community Public Art Guide not only has pictures of the murals, mosaics, sculptures and spaces that have been created by artists associated with the Chicago Public Art Group, but also has extensive explanation, along with examples, of composition, techniques of community art, and portfolios divided up by date ranges. The Group's latest work, Come to Light, a stunning multi-media mosaic, should click on the link of the same name, under the "What We Do" tab. [KMG]
In addition, NYARC includes access to a growing number of digital collections. A recent addition is the Frick Digital Image Archive, which links images of 15,000 works of art captured during the Frick's 1922-67 photography expeditions throughout the US to the documentation available in Arcade.
This site will be a valuable resource for students and faculty in graphic design, web development, and the book arts. Summing Up: Recommended. D. A. Berona, Plymouth State University, New Hampshire (From CHOICE reviews).
The "Fine Arts" gallery is defined as those visual arts primarily concerned with the creation of beauty, such as architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture, and Ukiyoe. Upon choosing a section of the gallery, visitors can click on it, see examples of the art form, and read about the history of these traditions. (KMG for Scout Report)