Skip to main content

U.S. History: Home

Resources for the Study of United States History

General Information

The Butler University Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system.

Books classed in the subject area of U.S. History will have call numbers beginning with E or F, so if you're browsing, this will be a good place to start.

For additional assistance, consult a professional librarian at the Reference Desk or call Irwin Library (940-9235) or Science Library (940-9401).

Founding Fathers

Bibliographies and Resource Guides

Print Indexes

Other Resources

Maps and atlases

Housed in Irwin Library's Current Periodical Room (CPR), just opposite the circulation desk. There are also atlases, including some with regional or historical perspectives (e.g., Historical Atlas of the American West), housed in the G classification in the reference area and in the general stacks.

Videos

Library videos are housed behind the circulation desk and may be viewed in the audio-visual facility on the first floor. When searching the library's holdings online, you might also come across the call number location SOC/ANTH MOD LANG CNTR. This designation refers to the Modern Foreign Language Lab, housed in Jordan Hall 391. Its hours are posted at Irwin's reference desk.

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives, Irwin Library, 3rd floor

Selected local history resources, and various special collections of interest to students of U.S. history, notably a number of collections focusing on Abraham Lincoln.

Subject Guide

Sally Childs-Helton's picture
Sally Childs-Helton
Contact:
Irwin Library, Rm 345
Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives
940-9265
Childs-Helton eval

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter