LibGuides: Latin American Politics: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the LibGuide for Latin American Politics. Choose from the topics in the tabs across the top of this window.

The Butler University Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. Most political science books are found in the J and K areas.

Butler University Political Science Department

Core Databases & Reference E-Books

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes international and interdisciplinary journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner; Erick Detlef Langer
ISBN: 9780684315904
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Fuente Academica Premier This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica Premier includes scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook by John T. Ishiyama
ISBN: 9781412979351
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Websites

Chilean Protest Murals
Protest murals from Santiago, 1983-1990 from the digital archive of Harvard University
CNN Interactive: Americas
Center for International Policy
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) online
Created by the Library of Congress
Honduras human rights and coup d'état
created by the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights of the Organization of American States, 2009
LANIC
Latin American Network Information Center
Latin America Working Group
Miami Herald Online
also available via Lexis-Nexis Academic
Pitt Latin American Series
University of Pittsburgh Press digital version of many of their publications
Political Database of the Americas
Hosted by Georgetown University
Washington Post Online: Americas
also available via Lexis-Nexis Academic

Subject Librarian

Sally Neal

she/her

Contact:

I am the subject librarian for:

CCOM: Strategic Communication, Journalism, Sports Media, Esports, Exploratory Communication; LAS: English, Exploratory Studies.

Temporary contact for: Philosophy & Religion, Political Science

Schedule an appt. with me for research support in these disciplines.

109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
sneal@butler.edu

Neal Library Instruction Evaluation

Subjects: Communication, English, History, Anthropology and Classics, Journalism, Sports Media

Report an Access Problem

Use this button to report any problems with the online resources listed in this guide (databases, ebooks, broken URLs, etc.)

Latin American Politics: Home

Welcome

Core Databases & Reference E-Books

Websites

Subject Librarian

Report an Access Problem

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS