Skip to main content

Film: Film Studies

This library research guide supports program areas that are a part of Butler University's College of Communication.
 
Click on an above book title to locate it in Butler's collections

WorldCat Discovery

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

Advanced SearchPowered by 

What Words do I Use?

If you are interested in books about film, plug in the following Library of Congress Subject Headings in the above WorldCat Discovery search box:

Film Criticism
Film History
Film Adaptations
Film Noir
Film
Motion Picture actors and actresses
Motion Picture audiences
Motion Pictures

Video Sources

Kanopy Streaming

A collection of more than 19,000 streaming foreign/indie feature films and documentaries, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to Butler students, faculty and staff, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers).  This collection includes titles from the Criterion Collection, a collection dedicated to gathering the greatest films from around the world and publishing them in editions that offer the highest technical quality and award-winning, original supplements. 

AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 video titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street,  Curated for the educational experience, it includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, clips, archival footage, news, tv programs, training videos, lectures, interviews, ethnographies, performance, and features & shorts.  

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform providing a variety of educational media content, mostly documentary, educational, and news sources.  Producers included in the collection are:  A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, MacNeil/Lehrer Productions, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.

Explore the fiftieth anniversary of this world-renowned distribution company by accessing Butler's copies of:  Essential Art House: 50 Years of Janus Films, an expansive collectors’ box set featuring fifty classic films on DVD and a lavishly illustrated hardcover book that tells the story of Janus Films through an essay by film historian Peter Cowie, a tribute from Martin Scorsese, and extensive, all-new notes on all fifty films, plus cast and credit listings and U.S. premiere information.  Access Essential Art House: 50 Years of Janus Films through Butler Libraries here.

 

Core Journal Article Databases

Listed below are core journal, magazine, and newspaper article databases that index scholarly journal articles in the area of film studies as well as film reviews.

Assoc. Dean for Public Services, Butler Libraries

Sally Neal's picture
Sally Neal
Contact:
Butler University
109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
sneal@butler.edu

Neal Evaluation

Encylcopedias, Dictionaries, Directories

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter