RSS Feeds: Recommended RSS Feeds

Once you have an feed site set up, it's all about adding feeds (and reading them). Here are some recommended subscription-based RSS feeds (your employer or academic instiution needs to have a paid subscription to the databases) to help you get started.

Google Reader: Recommended items

Google Reader: Recommended sources

Whenever you do a search in any database, online journal, online catalog, news site, or blog network, see if there's an RSS link somewhere on your search results page.

RSS:   Journal Alerts and Search Alerts:

JOURNAL ALERTS
Many online journals have RSS feeds on their tables of contents on the journal's homepage. This is a convenient way to view the new contents every time they publish a new edition; however, the full-text is most often blocked without a paid subscription.   Therefore, search these vendor databases for publication (journal) feeds: full-text of the articles are available to Butler-affiliated faculty, staff, and students. This is known in the biz as a 'Journal Alerts' or 'Journal RSS feeds'

SEARCH ALERTS
Besides tracking a favorite journal or professional/trade magazine, our subscription-based databases often let you build a search on a particular topic and save it as an RSS feed.    This will notify you whenever new content matches your search criteria. It's a great way to focus your research queries without going out and doing searches all the time.  This is known as a 'Search Alert' or 'Search RSS feed'.

EBSCO - Academic Search Premier

• For a Search Alert, create your search just the way you want it (including limiting to "peer-reviewed journals" etc.), then perform the search. In the top right corner you'll see a link for "Alert / Save / Share" and RSS is an option under that. Click RSS, customize as you like (brief/detailed, date range, etc.), then copy the RSS Feed link provided.
• When setting up a journal alert, select the 'Choose Databases' link if you think your publication is indexed in a different Ebsco database.  Butler Libraries subscribes to multiple datases via Ebsco so your particular journal could very well be indexed by an Ebsco database. 
• Online Instructions

JSTOR

• This is more of a journal repository vendor so older issues of journal are available most often (not the latest issues).  Still, some titles include current issues.  This journals indexed in this resource cover mostly the social sciences, humanities, and education.
• Tutorial

ProjectMuse

• There are two ways to pull in feeds from this source, either showing the latest issues or the most recent articles.  I've linked each below:
• Latest Issues (Latest four issues of each journal)
• Table of Contents (Latest articles in each journal)
• Project MUSE emphasizes titles in the humanities and social sciences.
• Online Instructions

Can't determine where your favorite journal or professional magazine is indexed?  Do a title search in:  Ulrichsweb Serials Directory.

• Perform a Title Search (select Advanced Search to obtain a title search box)
• Select the online version of the title
• Open the option:  'Abstracting and Indexing Databases' - Remember, we subscribe to many Ebsco-vendor databases

      OR

• Search for your jouranl name within the 'Journals A to Z' list

CHRONICLE OF HIGHER EDUCATION

• http://chronicle.com/sitemap/
• Click on RSS next to any of the topics.

SUGGESTIONS TO FIND RSS FEEDS OF INTEREST:

• Go to your professional association's website - they will often have RSS feeds for current news/research in your discipline.
• Professional associations often have blog writers; follow these to locate other potential bloggers (that is, in their blog posts they will be mentioning movers and shakers in the field; note their names and then search to see whether they are maintaing blogs).
• Check out these directories of higher education blogs that have RSS feed capabilities:

• 100 Best Higher Education Blogs
• Google Reader: Recommended sources
• Inside Higher Education
• ProfHacker - Tips about teaching, technology, and productivity

GOOGLE

• Set up an RSS feed for google searches using:  Google Alerts.
• Or use http://news.google.com, customize your search just the way you want, then scroll down to the bottom and grab the RSS link.