Skip to main content

Violin Studio Class: Useful LC Class Numbers

Basic resources for JCA's School of Music Violin Students.

LC Headings for Violin Materials

The Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) classification scheme for its materials.  This is an alpha-numeric system.  Each call number begins with a letter or letters followed by a number designating a particular topic.  In music, all books and scores are classed with the letters "M," "ML," or "MT."

M = Scores

ML = Books about music (i.e., music literature or history)

MT= Materials about music theory or pedagogy (i.e., teaching materials)

Below is a simplified overview of the LC classes relevant to the study of the violin:

  

VIOLIN

ML128 .V4                                           Bibliography

ML102 .V4                                           Dictionaries, encyclopedias

ML800+                                                History and criticism

ML802+                                                        Construction

MT260+                                                Instruction and study

MT760+                                                        for children

M40-M44                                            Solo violin

        M40                                                       Miscellaneous collections

        M41                                                       Original compositions, collections

        M42                                                       Original compositions, separate works

        M43                                                       Arrangements, collections

        M44                                                       Arrangements, separate works

M217-M223                                        Violin and piano music

        M217                                                     Miscellaneous collections

        M218                                                     Original compositions, general collections

        M219                                                     Sonatas

        M220                                                     Suites and kindred cyclical works

        M221                                                     Pieces

        M222                                                     Arrangements, collections

        M223                                                     Arrangements, separate works

M1112                                                  Violin and orchestra music (full and mini scores)

M1112.5                                                       Cadenzas. By composer of concerto, A-Z

M1113                                                  Violin and orchestra (piano reductions)

Violin

Violin by Alice Carrier. CC BY-ND 2.0

Other useful LC classes for strings

VIOLA

ML128 .V36                                         Bibliography

ML900+                                                History and criticism

ML901                                                           Construction

MT280+                                                Instruction and study

MT760+                                                        for Children

M45-M49                                            Solo viola

M224-M228                                        Solo viola with keyboard

M1014                                                  Solo viola with orchestra (full & mini scores)

M1015                                                  Solo viola with orchestra (piano reductions)

M114                                                     Solo viola with string orchestra (full & mini scores)

M1115                                                  Solo viola with string orchestra (piano reductions)

 

VIOLONCELLO/CELLO

ML128 .V5                                           Bibliography

ML910+                                                History and criticism

ML911                                                           Construction

MT300+                                                Instruction and study

MT785+                                                        for Children

M50-M54                                            Solo cello

M229+                                                  Cello with piano

M1016                                                  Solo viola with orchestra (full & mini scores)

M1016.5                                                       Cadenzas

M1017                                                  Solo cello with orchestra (piano reductions)

M1116                                                  Solo cello with string orchestra (full & mni scores)

M1116.5                                                       Cadenzas

M1117                                                  Solo cello with string orchestra (piano reductions)

 

DOUBLE BASS/STRING BASS

Ml128 .D6                                            Bibliography

ML920+                                                History and criticism

ML921                                                           Construction

MT320+                                                Instruction and study

MT801 .D65                                                for children

M237                                                     Piano and double bass, collections

M238                                                     Piano and double bass, separate works

M55-M58                                            Solo Double Bass

        M55                                                       Miscellaneous collections

        M56                                                       Original compositions, collections

        M57                                                       Original compositions, separate works

        M58                                                       Arrangements

M1018                                                  Double bass and orchestra

M1118                                                  Double bass and string orchestra

 

STRING ENSEMBLES

M349+                                                  String trios

M450+                                                  String quartets (scores)

        M452                                                     Two violins, viola, violoncello (includes separate works)

        MT 64 .S7                                             Compositions (Instruction and study)

        ML1160                                                History and criticism

M550+                                                  String quintets

M650+                                                  String sextets

 


   

 

 

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter