Skip to main content

One Butler: The Brain Project

Resources related to One Butler: The Brain Project

Finding more information on these topics:

Tips for finding information on how the brain works (relating to September 14th event):

Search library catalogs by subject for one or more of these options:

  • brain physiology or brain physiology popular works (to limit your search to books for a more general audience)
  • neuroanatomy
  • brain anatomy
  • brain or brain popular works
  • neuroplasticity

Article and Video databases can also be searched by subject for similar terms (although the term popular works will be more relevant to books)

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

 

Tips for finding information on Alzheimer's Disease and Memory (relating to October 4th event):

MedlinePlus, at https://medlineplus.gov/, provided by the National Library of Medicine, is a good source for information on a variety of health topics.  The search bar is in the upper right part of the home page.

 

 

 

In addition to searching library catalogs for the term memory, you can try a subject search for terms such as memory age factors or cognition in old age or brain aging

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

‚Äč

Tips for finding information on Schizophrenia (relating to October 18th event):

The National Institute of Mental Health, at http://www.nimh.nih.gov/index.shtml, is a good source for information on mental health issues.  There is a section devoted to  schizophrenia.

National Institute of Mental Health topic page

MedlinePlus, at https://medlineplus.gov/, provided by the National Library of Medicine, is a good source for information on a variety of health topics.  The search bar is in the upper right part of the home page.

 

 

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes reviews relating to Schizophrenia.  This database contains reviews of the medical literature on a variety of topics and may be worth consulting if a topic of interest to you has been addressed.

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

 

Sample resources:

Tips for finding information on music and the brain (relating to November event):

In addition to using the search terms music and brain, you can search library catalogs by subject for one or more of these options:

  • Music therapy
  • Music psychological aspects
  • Music physiological aspects

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

Tips for finding information on Brain Injury (relating to December 7th event):

MedlinePlus, at https://medlineplus.gov/, provided by the National Library of Medicine, is a good source for information on a variety of health topics.  The search bar is in the upper right part of the home page.
MedlinePlus search box

 

 

In addition to searching library catalogs for the term "brain injuries", you can try a subject search for terms such as brain concussion or brain wounds and injuries. 

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes reviews relating to traumatic brain injury.  This database contains reviews of the medical literature on a variety of topics and may be worth consulting if a topic of interest to you has been addressed.

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

Information on careers in neuroscience can be found at:

The Society for Neuroscience Career Tools and Resources page http://www.sfn.org/careers-and-training/career-tools-and-resources

The British Neuroscience Association Careers page https://www.bna.org.uk/careers/

Examples of specific job postings can be found at http://jobs.sciencecareers.org/jobs/neuroscience/

 

Tips for finding information on Multitasking (relating to the February 23rd event):

Search library catalogs by subject for either of these terms:

  • multitasking
  • human multitasking

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

 

Sample resources:

Tips for finding information on addictions and the brain  (relating to February 9th event):

The National Institute on Drug Abuse site at https://www.drugabuse.gov/ provides information relating to drug abuse and addiction

National Institute on Drug Abuse page header 

 

 

In addition to searching for terms such as brain and addiction, you can search library catalogs by subject for one of these options:

  • brain effect of drugs on
  • addiction physiological aspects (or substance abuse physiological aspects)
  • addiction physiological effect

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes reviews relating to addiction.  This database contains reviews of the medical literature on a variety of topics and may be worth consulting if a topic of interest to you has been addressed.

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

Tips for finding information on art therapy and PTSD (relating to March 14th event):

In addition to searching for the keyword PTSD, you can also search library catalogs for the subject post-traumatic stress disorder.  Please note that the database PsycINFO uses posttraumatic stress disorder.

Additional terms for art therapy include "creative arts therapy", "expressive arts therapy", and "arts therapeutic use". 

Journals such as The Arts in Psychotherapy can be searched for trauma and/or "post-traumatic stress disorder" to find articles on art therapy and PTSD.

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

Tips for finding information on the neuropsychiatric benefit of sport and exercise (relating to April 11th event):

Search library catalogs by subject for one of these options to find books:

  • cognition effect of exercise on
  • exercise psychological aspects
  • sports psychological aspects
  • physical fitness psychological aspects

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

Tips for finding information on nutrition and the brain (relating to November event):

In addition to using the search terms nutrition or diet and brain, you can search library catalogs by subject for one or more of these options:

  • Mental health nutritional aspects
  • Nutrition psychological aspects
  • Intellect nutritional aspects

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

Tips for finding information on the neuroscience of sleep (relating to the April 3rd event):

You can search library catalogs by subject for one or more of these options:

  • Sleep psychological aspects
  • Sleep physiological aspects

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

Tips for finding information on education and the brain (relating to April 29th event):

Search library catalogs by subject for one or more of these options:

  • cognitive learning
  • learning physiological aspects
  • cognitive neuroscience
  • learning psychology of

Databases can be searched for additional terms such as "brain based learning" and/or "brain based teaching".

Judy Willis, a neurologist and middle school teacher, has written several books on brain research based teaching strategies.

For more tips, see the General Search Tips page

Sample resources:

Loading

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter