Skip to main content

MK 380: Principles of Marketing (Chamberlaine): Business Databases

Which Database Should I Use?

Review the Business Databases - By Information Need page to determine which database best meets your research need.

Which Database do I use chart

Govt. Sources: NAICS codes & Form 10-K

Find NAICS codes using the U.S. Census Bureau's NAICS lookup tool.

Helpful Databases

Use these databases to find company profiles and create company lists (ex:  competitors).  See the Business Database Help LibGuide (see box on left) for other company databases.

Use these to find helpful industry overviews.

  • Mintel is a great resource for consumer information.  Be sure to review the Databooks.  
  • Statista will help you find reports, statistics, and infographics.
  • Simmons is a database for consumer research.  We recommend you review the Simmons tutorials before using this database.
  • Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform are helpful databases for scholarly and trade publication articles.  To learn how to find trade publications in these databases, try the tutorial linked on this LibGuide. 
  • The Wall Street Journal often publishes articles on large public companies.
  • Global Issues in context has information on international topics, including ethics issues.
  • IBISWorld provides information on supply chain issues within specific industries.
  • Passport is a database for international business research.  It is a great resource for all kinds of information on industries, products, brands, consumers, and more.   See the tutorials for help using Passport. 
  • The Form 10-K is an SEC report (government report) filed annually by public companies.  See the Business section of the 10-K for helpful information.
Loading ...

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter