Skip to main content

FYS: The Fourth Genre - More Than Just the Facts (Hudelson): Research Resources

Search Strategies

Is it Credible?

Scholarship = Conversation

Avoid Plagiarism

How to Avoid Plagiairism

Where to Search

Where should I search to find articles? 

You can find articles in several ways, but for the most part academic articles are housed within our databases. We give you access to LOTS of database, and each is a little different in what it contains and how it searches. 

Here are some databases it would be good for you to be familiar with, no matter your major:

We also recommend that you check out the Course or Subject LibGuide for your major/class/topic because LibGuides list databases recommended for your particular discipline or assignment. 


I've found a search result that looks interesting! What do I do now?

  • Make sure you can access the full-text. 
    • If you aren't brought directly to the text of the entire article, look for a link that says one of the following: Full-text, PDF, HTML, Full article. If you can't access the full-text (and you still have some time before your assignment is due), you may be able to request it through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Download, save, or bookmark
    • Do not save the url address of the result - instead, look for a way to email, download/save. Some databases also provide a permalink/bookmark feature that will provide you with a stable url.
  • Use the result to find other great sources! See if there are any "find similar results" or hyperlinked subject terms on the page that can lead you to additional sources.

Use the WorldCat Discovery search box below (same as the one on the front page of the library website) to find books, ebooks, and media owned by Butler Libraries.

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

Advanced SearchPowered by 

Things to know about WorldCat Discovery:

  • It searches beyond Butler! Butler's content comes up first, but depending on your search you may come across content that says Held By someone other than Butler. If it's a print item, you can typically still obtain a copy through a service called interlibrary loan. More details here.
  • If the result is an ebook or evideo, there should be a button to click and easily Access Online.
  • If you're looking for something in print, it will tell you which library and whether the item is available. Ask at the desk of either location for help finding things on the shelves.
  • You can limit your search results to a certain format, or even to peer-reviewed or content owned by Butler. Use the options in the left column.

Media

While you can find media within WorldCat Discovery, you can also search a few of our databases that feature film:

Google can be an effective way for you to discover freely-available community, government, and historical resources.

However - and it's a big caveat - you will need to put effort into making sure your search is retrieving quality content that stands up to evaluation measures. Below the search box, you'll find some advice to elevate your Google game.

1 - What you put in will be what you get out

  • Be specific and combine search terms - or use the Advanced Search
  • Consider adding a site limiter (site:.gov, site:.edu) or a term like "museum", "library", etc.

2 - Evaluate, evaluate, evaluate!!

  • Who is the author? Run a quick Google search on them or if it's an organization or news page, check out the About page.
    • Do they have education or experience with the topic?
    • In what ways might they be biased? Politically? Geographically? Socio-economically?
  • Look at dates!  Has information changed since it was published?
  • Check out the information itself. If it gives you numbers, do you know how they were generated? Does it cite its sources fully? Is the language objective and academic?
Loading

The Information Cycle

If your topic is too new, it may still be within the first stages of the information cycle. If you can't find something about your exact topic, get creative. Is there a larger theme that you can search for? A comparable topic? If you can't think of something, ask your faculty or librarian for help.

MLA Style

Button linking to MLA Citation Guide

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter