LibGuides: HN200: American Civil War at 150 (Lantzer): Getting Started

Uncle Tom's Cabin

Want to Reuse this Content?

You are welcome to reuse the content of this Guide as long as you attribute Butler University Libraries.

Final Paper Resources

This guide was created for you, students of Honors - American Civil War at 150. I'm here to help with your research, so please contact me when you have questions: phone, email, chat, or drop by my office any time. (See the box to the right.)

The tabs in this box will link you to databases and resources that you may find helpful for your projects.

The tabs at the top of the page will help you find, evaluate, and cite your sources.

"The Splendid Naval Triumph on the Mississippi, April 24th, 1862" from Wikimedia Commons

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.
National Archives: Civil War
Access primary source materials through the National Archives Civil War portal
Cornell University MOA Colletion
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
University of Michigan MOA Collection
At the University of Michigan, approximately 1,600 books and ten journals with imprints primarily between 1850 - 1877 were selected, scanned, and made available through the present system. Librarians, researchers, and instructors continue to work together to determine the content of this digital library and to evaluate the impact of this resource on research and teaching at both institutions.

SELECTED EBOOKS

The Civil War by Sheehan-Dean Aaron (Editor); Stephen W. Sears (Editor); Brooks D. Simpson (Editor)
Call Number: E464 .C433 2011
ISBN: 9781598530889
Publication Date: 2011-02-03
"Drawn from letters, diaries, speeches, articles, poems, songs, military reports, legal opinions, and memoirs, this collection brings together over 120 pieces by more than 60 men and women to create a firsthand narrative of the first year of the Civil War. Beginning on the eve of Lincoln's election in 1860 and ending in January 1862 with the appointment of Edwin M. Stanton as Secretary of War, the selections provide a sense of the immediacy, uncertainty, and urgency of events as the nation was torn asunder. Includes headnotes, a chronology of events, and biographical and explanatory endnotes."

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Remember that we can get books and articles from other libraries for you - just give us some lead time and a citation and let us do the rest. You may have to create an account first, but your username/password will be your regular Butler credentials. Also look for the ILL link when using the Find It! button in our databases - it will often fill out the citation details for you!

Interlibrary Loan Tutorial
2-minute tutorial on ILL at Butler.
Interlibrary Loan
If we don't have access to something you need, submit an interlibrary loan request!

Subject Guide

Gayle O'Hara

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Irwin Library, Room 345a
317-940-9265
Gayle O'Hara Instruction Evaluation

Subjects: History, Anthropology and Classics

HN200: American Civil War at 150 (Lantzer): Getting Started

Uncle Tom's Cabin

Want to Reuse this Content?

Final Paper Resources

Subject Guide

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS