Skip to main content

FYS: Mixed Bag: Metaphors to 'Stay Woke' (Davidson): Where to find "stuff!"

This guide is designed to aid students in Prof. Davidson's First-Year Seminar, "Mixed Bag: Metaphors to 'Stay."

Types of Resources

General Search Starting Place:

Discovery Box - use to find a vast array of materials, including books, scores, recordings, videos, journals, and journal citations, abstracts, and full-text from select commercial databases..

  • WorldCat Discovery Box - (located on the Butler Libraries homepage) use to find:
    • Both electronic and print resources (and some streaming!).
    • Resources available at Butler.
    • Resources availabe via PALNI Libraries (Private Academic Library Network of Indiana).
    • Resources available beyond Butler and PALNI (at thousands of WorldCat Libraries around the United States and around the world.
    • Links to facilitate interlibrary loan requests  (use the "Place Hold" button for items owned by PALNI libraries and the "Request Item" buttom for items held by "Libraries Worldwide" - i.e.,  libraries outside of PALNI).

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond


Advanced SearchPowered by  




Commercial/Subscription Databases - use to find citations, abstracts, and full-text  to articles and even books.  Here are a few you may find useful for this class:

Internet Seach Engines - most of you are familiar with using such search engines as Google, Ask Jeeves, Yahoo, etc.  For more schoarly results, try using:


System Search Icon by sixsixfive

System Search Icon by sixsixfive, 2015. Public Domain



Blue Database by LindsayBradford

Blue Database by LindsayBradford, 2014. Public Domain.


Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter