LibGuides: Mental Health Counseling: Finding Articles, Videos, and More

Search Tools for Finding Information

Although these will not really search everything, these tools will search for many books, articles, and more all with one search:

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.

For example, here are the results of a sample search for the subjects "mental health counseling" and "case studies" with the sorting set to Best Match. The results list can be narrowed down by using the filters (date, format, etc.) on the left side of the results screen.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

There is no subject searching in Google Scholar, but the results list can be narrowed by date range and by adding additional search terms. An Advanced Search screen (shown below) is also available (which you can get to by clicking on the three horizontal bars - the options menu - in the upper left corner).

Google Scholar Advanced Search screen

Configuring Google Scholar for Butler
Instructions for configuring Google Scholar to add the Find it at Butler Univ! links to search results when you are off campus

These databases can help you to focus your search:

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing access to top-tier biomedical and health journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.

For a more complete list of databases, see Databases A-Z (also available from the library home page).

DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders This link opens in a new window
The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a tool for clinicians, an essential educational resource for students and practitioners, and a reference for researchers in the field.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains eBooks on a wide variety of subjects. Some examples are shown below:

SAGE Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video showcases relevant educational video across key social, behavioral, and health science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse learning and research needs.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes videos on Counseling and Therapy (see the link below)
You can search by title or filter the results list by subject, type of content (counseling session, interview, etc.) and more.

> Counseling and Therapy videos within AVON

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content. It includes a Counseling and Social Work Collection (see the link below)

> Counseling videos within Films on Demand

Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
This collection includes videos from Psychotherapy.net (see the link below)

> Psychotherapy,net videos within Kanopy

Ebook examples

Case conceptualization and effective interventions : assessing and treating mental, emotional, and behavioral disorders by Lynn Zubernis, Matthew Snyder
ISBN: 9781483388717
Publication Date: 2015
Clinical Mental Health Counseling : Elements of Effective Practice by J. Scott Young, Craig S. Cashwell
ISBN: 9781506305622
Publication Date: 2016
Modern Community Mental Health by Kenneth Yeager (Editor); David Cutler (Editor)
ISBN: 9781299940345
Publication Date: 2013

Journals

To find out if Butler Libraries has a specific journal, go to the Journals A-Z list and search for the title.

Examples of a few journals relevant to mental health counseling:

Find Full Text button

Don't give up if you don't see an icon for the full text!

Click on the Find Full Text button to see if the library does have full text access to the item or if it is freely available. (example)

Please remember that you can use InterLibrary Loan to get articles in a few days (or books in about a week).

Note:

Be sure to use persistent links if you decide to save or email links to articles you found in the results list of a database search. Sometimes, the URL you see at the top of the page includes session information from your search session and the link will not work after you have closed that session.

In addition to using persistent links, if you note the citation information you can insure that you will be able to find the item again.

Mental Health Counseling: Finding Articles, Videos, and More

Search Tools for Finding Information

Ebook examples

Journals

Find Full Text button

Note:

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS