LibGuides: EN393: American Trauma (Carter): Home

Welcome to your Course Guide!

Created specifically for your Case Study Assignment, this Guide is full of carefully selected resources and tools. Don't hesitate to reach out to Butler Libraries if you have any questions!

Reading for Class Activity

Newseum: Front Pages Archives
Racial Profiling from CQ Researcher
We're exclusively focusing on the Pro/Con section.
In-Class Adobe Spark Page

Print Items +

WorldCat Discovery is our library's catalog, so you will use it to discover what we have on our shelves. It goes well beyond a straightforward book search, though - it will bring back other formats and even things that are only available via interlibrary loan. Check out the limiters to make this search return exactly what you want.

Library Databases

Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.

Can't find a bio for your person? Try local newspapers! We get full-text access to a number of newspapers, so if you hit any requests to pay to access content, make sure to see if we own it.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Did you Know? You get free subscriptions to the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.
Well, free to you! The Butler Readership Program is sponsored by Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, Butler Libraries, and SGA.
Pay Attention - Political Perspectives in the News

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source archive featuring history of the 19th and 20th centuries from the female perspective. Includes Part 1: Women's Issues and Identities and Part 2: Voice and Vision.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Primary source archive related to LGBTQ and gender studies.

SOCIAL SCIENCE DATABASES

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

HUMANITIES DATABASES

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.

Questions? Ask Butler Libraries!

Butler Libraries: Irwin Library, Science Library, and Education Resource Library

For immediate assistance, chat with the Information Commons desk.

To contact the librarian that supports the discipline or subject area covered by this LibGuide, email Sally Neal, Head of Instruction, sneal@butler.edu.

Check the Butler Libraries' website for regular semester hours and holiday and break hours.

Email: infocommons@butler.edu
Phone: 317-940-9227

EN393: American Trauma (Carter): Home

Welcome to your Course Guide!

Reading for Class Activity

Print Items +

Library Databases

Questions? Ask Butler Libraries!

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS