LibGuides: EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2018-19 (all sections): General Resources

Resources for Everyone

Develop good research questions. Can you describe the type of business information you need?
Identify the relevant NAICS code(s) for the industry in which your business will operate. If you cannot identify a code, think of descriptive keywords for the industry.
Start preliminary information-gathering in the Business Source Complete database. Use the NAICS codes and also try various keyword searches.
Locate at least one good industry report that describes the industry in which your business will operate. Start with the First Research or IBISWorld database or see the Industry LibGuide.
Find additional secondary information (e.g. articles, reports, etc.) using Business Databases.
Use Google to locate trade associations for your industry. Often trade associations will provide free information about your industry.
Start your research early! If you discover you are having a difficult time finding good information, give yourself plenty of time to contact your Business Librarian.

PUBLIC COMPANIES	PRIVATE COMPANIES
Publicly-Owned--issue shares of stock that are freely traded on an exchange (ex: New York Stock Exchange)	Privately-Owned--do not issue shares of stock. Typically owned by company founders, management, or group of private investors
Must publicly disclose financial information by filing reports with the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC). The annual filing is the Form 10-K.	Not required to disclose financial information
Usually easy to find information on public companies	Not as easy to find information on private companies

Tip: You will usually find a company's Form 10-K report on its website under headings such as "Investors" or "SEC Filings."

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window
SMA is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directories.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Wall Street Journal Site License- for registration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to register for a personal Wall Street Journal account. For instructions on how to register, please click the "Star" icon.

NOTE: If you have already your Butler WSJ account, just go to wsj.com and sign in.

E-commerce venues for product placement:

Amazon
Jet
eBay
Etsy
Facebook
For more information see How to Sell on Facebook.
Instagram
For more information see How to Sell on Instagram. Using Instagram may require the use of other applications to set up a website storefront and/or Like2Buy by Curalate to display prices directly on the post, but recently they launched their own Shoppable Posts
Pinterest
For more information see How to Sell on Pinterest. Here is Pinterest's own article on Selling on Pinterest and their Buyable Pins guidelines.
CrateJoy
Craftsy

More resources for selling online:

Linked on this page are resources that can be used for general research for almost any analysis (industry, competitor, etc.). For specialized resources, go to the dropdown box under the Individual Resources tab to find resources for a specific type of analysis.

MacRae's Blue Book
Find suppliers of industrial and manufacturing products and services (ex: food packaging suppliers)
Kompass
International directory of suppliers
Industrial Quick Search Directory
Directory of industrial manufacturers

Need More Databases?

Business Databases by Subject & Major
Match the best database with your information need.
All Business Databases
Here is the full list of business databases you can access through Butler University

EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2018-19 (all sections): General Resources

General Resources for Everyone

Resources for Everyone

Need More Databases?

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS