LibGuides: EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2018-19 (all sections): Supply Chain Analysis*

*Using Supply Chain Resources

The Supply Chain Analysis may not be selected by a member of your team for the Individual Research Assignment. However, depending on your idea, you might include information on the supply chain for your own assignment.

Supply Chain Resources

Tips on finding trade sources:

Google industry keywords with the word "association." ex: "fast food" association
Find an industry report and look for links to trade sources in the report (ex: First Research report).
Use keywords to search a database and then filter results to trade publications. (ex: Business Source Complete database).

Global Sources
Global Sources is a leading business-to-business media company. Contains pertinent trade show and trade magazine information.

First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.

Tip: Start with the IBISWorld database. For help using databases, see the tutorials linked on this LibGuide. In Mergent Online, see the information under the "Horizon" tab.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.

Tip: Start with Thomasnet.com to identify suppliers. You can register for free for full access.

AliBaba.com
Launched in 1999, Alibaba.com is the leading platform for global wholesale trade.
Kompass Directory
An international directory of suppliers in most industries. Search for suppliers and build lists by industry, product, or service.
Made-In-China.com
Made-in-China.com provides the most complete, accurate and up-to-date information on Chinese products and Chinese suppliers available anywhere on the web. Nowadays, Made-in-China.com is a world leading B2B portal, specializing in bridging the gap between global buyers and quality Chinese suppliers.
MacRAE's Blue Book
Information on over 1,200,000 North American industrial companies with more than 2 million product listings indexed under more than 50,000 product headings.
Global Sources
Global Sources is a leading business-to-business media company.

Business Databases by Topic
Use this chart to help you find the best database for specific topics.

EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2018-19 (all sections): Supply Chain Analysis*

*Using Supply Chain Resources

Supply Chain Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS