Skip to main content

LSB 401/402: Internship I & II (Templeton): Other Research Resources

Which Database Should I Use?

Review the Business Databases - By Information Need page to determine which database best meets your research need.

Which Database do I use chart

Research Resources

  • The AtoZ and Mergent Intellect databases cover both private and public companies and include an Advanced Search feature that will help you create company lists based on selected criteria (ex:  competitor lists). 
  • PrivCo has profiles on private companies.   
  • GuideStar is a database with profiles on nonprofit organizations.
  • BizMiner will help with Industry Market and Financial Analysis and includes financial benchmarks and norms for hundreds of industries.  You can narrow results to industries of a certain size and in a specific geographic area (city, county, zip code). 
  • Mergent Online has detailed financials and ratios for public companies, and Morningstar provides financials and investment analysis for public companies.
  • First Research and IBISWorld have detailed profiles on thousands of industries.
  • Mintel has industry reports and detailed information and surveys on consumers. 
  • Statista has industry reports called dossiers, plus thousands of infographics and statistical tables on companies, industries, and consumers.

Scholarly articles may have information related to a business concept you are discussing in your paper.  For example, when writing about your organization's mission, you may decide to reference an article in which the author has interpreted the value of mission statements.  Three (3) databases that will help you find scholarly articles are linked below as are tips to help you identify scholarly sources.

 

How to tell if a source is scholarly or academic. First, look for the easy stuff:  it should be on the long side, it will be very text-heavy with rare color and or advertisements. Scholarly sources often start with an abstract and finish with a reference list. You can also look at the author to see if a source is scholarly; are they credible with education or experience with the topic? Are they affiliated with a university or organization? Is there more than one author? The source should include its source and cite them in-text and in references. The purpose of scholarly sources is to be academic and informational. They should remain objective and cover specific, narrow topics. Scholarly articles also often introduce new research. Finally, the language of an article can indicate whether or not it is scholarly. Scholarly articles use technical jargon and don't stop to give definitions. They are meant for an audience of academics or professionals, so it's often hard for someone outside the field of study to understand them.

 

How to tell if a Source is Scholarly/Academic by adstarkel. Used under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Finding Scholarly/Academic Articles

Your best bet is to look in one of our databases or use WorldCat Discovery and limit your search to articles. You will likely find that there are LOTS of popular sources in with the academic ones, even within our databases. Use the Peer-Review Limiter to your advantage. This option is normally located in the left column; you can see screenshots of this option from WorldCat Discovery (left) and our EBSCO databases (right).

Peer review limiter in WorldCat Discovery searchPeer review limiter in EBSCO

This will limit your search to publications that are most scholarly/academic. It does not necessarily filter to include publications that go through a strict peer-review process. It also does not apply the filter at the article level; occasionally it will allows articles that are not scholarly/academic to come through (for example, an editorial opinion piece can be published in a scholarly journal but the article itself is not scholarly). 

If you have questions about whether or not a source is scholarly/academic, ask your professor or a librarian!

Loading ...

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter