The database Opposing Viewpoints presents sources for multiple perspectives about a given issue. This links to a page about Freedom of Speech. You can enter different search terms in the box at the top of the page as well.
The First Amendment Center is an operating program of the Freedom Forum and is associated with the Newseum and the Diversity Institute. It features daily updates on news about First Amendment-related developments.
"For the last 25 years, William Bennett Turner has taught a course on the First Amendment at UC Berkeley. His book, Figures of Speech, describes the colorful characters who have played roles in important First Amendment controversies."
"Drawing on the best of the liberal democratic tradition, she [Stein] develops a systematic and concise definition of democratic speech and compares this definition to legal understandings of speech rights in contemporary media law." Available at Irwin Library and as an ebook.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
There are many government organizations that overlap with first amendment issues. For example, the FBI has sites about censorship and online privacy and the CDC has sites about vaccinations and smoking and the first amendment. This search is a good place to begin to make sure you aren't overlooking any useful perspectives. You can also conduct a normal Google search and add site:.gov to restrict your search to government websites.