Journal & Magazine Examples
Gender & Society
Click on the cover image for details.
Ms. Magazine
APA Style
Go the Butler's APA Citation Style LibGuide for citation guidance:
Butler's APA Citation Style LibGuide
Communication Indexes & Databases
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteOur core index of communication related articles, reports, and books.
- Contemporary Women's IssuesIndexes articles from 1992 to present, subject coverage includes: development, pay equity, education, politics, family life, reproductive rights, gender equity, health, violence and exploitation, human rights, legal status, the workplace, lesbian concerns.
- Women & Social Movements in the United StatesThis web site is organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes both primary and secondary documents.
- Academic Search Premier A multidisciplinary database indexing journal and magazine articles covering the humanities, social sciences, business, education, and the sciences. Use for BOTH scholarly & professional magazine articles.
- Film Literature IndexThe major index to film criticism. Available online from 1974 - 2001. Available in print in Irwin Library's Reference Collection PN1993 .F55, 1991 - 2004.
- Film & Television Literature IndexDatabase of journal articles related to film and television research.
- SocINDEXSocINDEX is a core index indexing articles, books, and conference papers in the social sciences.
- AltPressIndexIndexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines.
- PsycINFOCore index of psychology articles.
Databases from Other Disciplines
- Additional Butler DatabasesBrowse our Databases by Subject list to find other subject areas related to gender communication: business, education, political science, history, etc.
Print & Broadcast Ads
- PressDisplayA rolling 60-day archive of more than 300 newspapers from around the world, exactly as they appear in print (including ads).
- Ad*AccessPresents images for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920Presents over 9,000 images that "illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States."
- Vintage Ad BrowserThis site aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, your submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more.
- PSA Central (Registration required, but free)The Ad Council, the producer of public service ads (PSAs) on TV and radio, in newspapers and magazines, on billboards and on the Web, makes a wide variety of these ads available for preview or download on this site.
- AdViewsAdViews is a digital archive of vintage television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
- Classic TV AdsProvides free access to videos of early television commercials. Commercials date back to the 1940's and are sorted into the following categories: eat, drink, smoke, clean, groom, shop and travel.
Librarian for College of Communication |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
