Skip to main content

HST 205: The Great War (Ramsbottom): Other Helpful Online Resources

Other Suggested Websites

Multimedia/Centennial/Primary Source Websites (if you want to start exploring)

International Encyclopedia of the First World War: http://www.1914-1918-online.net/ (see WWI websites tab)

US National Archives WWI Military Records: https://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww1

World War I Document Archive: http://www.gwpda.org/index.html

Wall Street Journal WWI articles: http://online.wsj.com/ww1/

British National Archives WWI materials: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/first-world-war

New York Times:  http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2014/06/27/world/legacy-of-world-war-i.html?action=click&contentCollection=Europe&module=RelatedCoverage&region=Marginalia&pgtype=article&_r=0

Taylor and Francis Online: http://explore.tandfonline.com/page/ah/centenary-collection-remembering-world-war-one

Progressive Era/WWI: https://www.gilderlehrman.org/history-by-era/progressive-era-new-era-1900-1929/world-war-i

World War I Centenary (UK): http://ww1centenary.oucs.ox.ac.uk/

World War I Photos, Videos, Museum Artifacts (these are visual primary sources):

US National Archives Photos:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/usnationalarchives/sets/72157626091062627/

Library of Congress Prints and Photos: http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/coll/wwicoll.html

The Atlantic: WWI in Photos: https://www.theatlantic.com/projects/world-war-i-in-photos/

WW I photo archive:  http://www.ww1photos.com/PhotoArchive.html

BBC programming for Britain:  http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p01nb93y

WWI Mobilisation Video (UK): http://www.britishpathe.com/workspaces/BritishPathe/ww1-mobilisation  (yes, this is the British spelling of “moblisation”)

Imperial War Museum: http://www.iwm.org.uk/history/first-world-war

World War I in Music and Poetry:

http://www.allmusic.com/album/songs-of-wwi-from-original-recordings-1914-1926-mw0001124979

Samples of the top 20 songs of WWI

http://www.ww1photos.com/WW1MusicIndex.html

Samples of WWI songs sung by American and British soldiers

http://cylinders.library.ucsb.edu/wwi.php

Samples of WWI songs on cylinder recordings

http://library.brown.edu/cds/catalog/catalog.php?verb=search&task=setup&colid=9&type=basic

Brown University Library WWI Song Library

http://levysheetmusic.mse.jhu.edu/

Sheet music collection at Johns Hopkins.  Qualify by World War and dates 1914-1918.

http://ww1photos.com/WorldWarOnePoetry.html

WWI poetry

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter