This is the "Interpersonal Communication" page of the "Interpersonal Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Interpersonal Communication  

This library research guide supports program areas that are a part of Butler University's College of Communication.
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2012 URL: http://libguides.butler.edu/interpersonalcommunication Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Interpersonal Communication Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide describes sources and strategies for research into interpersonal communication

It includes sections on Overview Sources, Annual Reviews, and Handbooks to define and find significant scholarshop on your topic and Article Databases to locate primary research. 

Overview Sources

 

Handbooks

A handbook is a reference book providing concise overviews of key issues, theories, and other aspects of a field of scholarly study.  Search the Butler Catalog for handbooks on communication subject areas:  ex. family communication AND handbook.

 

Click on the cover to access book
(Butler-affiliated users only)
 
Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
Click on the cover to access book.
(Butler-affiliated users only)

 

Click here for additional books in our collection.
 
 

Survey

After the library research session, click here to take survey.

 

Getting Started with Interpersonal Communication Research

Interpersonal communication takes many forms and occurs in many contexts.  In beginning your research, plan out what aspects of interpersonal communication you are interested in.

This will help guide both where to search and what kind of terms to use.

For example, think about:

  • Context: communication at work, in school, on a sports team, at a party, at home, etc.
  • Type of relationship: friendship, family (spouse, sibling, parent-child), romantic relationship, etc.
  • Form of communication: speech, nonverbal, writing, phone, IM, etc.
  • Purpose of communication: persuasion, conflict resolution, support, information gathering, etc.
  • Other influences: race, age, gender, culture, etc.  

Be as specific as possible in formulating your search terms, covering all aspects you're interested in, but be sure to use alternative/related terms as well. Then check out the Finding Articles and Finding Books sections of this guide.

Article Databases

Because interpersonal communiation takes place in so many contexts, research on interpersonal communication can be found in databases focused on many different fields:  education, business & management, nursing & health sciences, political science, and others. 

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 380 journals,
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Provides citations and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers covering the humanities, social sciences, business, education, and the natural and applied sciences, including more than 3,500 full-text, peer-reviewed journals.
  • Business Source Complete
    Contains peer-reviewed, business related journals articles as well as articles in business trade publications. Use this database to find articles on organizational communication.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  
      
    This database is available in two editions: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
  • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
    The premier database for education, ERIC leads you to scholarly journal articles and reports dating back to 1966.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    If you find a a great article, use this database to locate other scholar's articles who have cited it.
 

Other Article Databases

Go to the Libraries' Subject Databse List to locate additional subject-specific databases. 

 

Search Primo here! (will open in new tab)

Primo is the motherload of databases.  In it, you are locating ebooks, print books, and journal articles.  Be sure to explore the limiting/refining features along the left column of the search page to drill down to specific types of sources or to refine your subject.

Assoc. Dean for Public Services, Butler Libraries

Profile Image
Sally Neal
Contact Info
Butler University
109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
Send Email
Library Instruction Feedback:
Neal Evaluation
 

APA Style

Go the Butler's APA Citation Style LibGuide for citation guidance:

Butler's APA Citation Style LibGuide

 

Books in Butler's Collections

New Book
24/7: How Cell Phones and the Internet Change the Way We Live, Work, and Play 
Click on the cover to access this book
(Butler-affiliated users only)
 
New Book
Nonverbal Communication in Close Relationships (Lea's Series on Personal Relationships)
Click on the cover image for details.

Click here for additional books in our collection.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip