LibGuides: U.S. & International Legal Resources: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the LibGuide for Legal Resources. Choose from the topics in the tabs across the top of this window.

Legal resources are numerous and complex. If you have personal legal needs you may need to consult a lawyer or a more complete law collection such as the one found at the IUPUI law school. Butler University collects several core legal resources which cover federal and Indiana state law, as well as information on political, historical, and social aspects of law.

Butler University Political Science Department

General Online Resources

ACLU
American Civil Liberties Union Home Page
Constitution Society
FDsys (was GPO Access)
Free electronic access to important sources produced by the Federal Government, including the U.S. Code.
Find Law
Internet Legal Resources
How to Research a Legal Problem: A Guide for Non-Lawyers
created by the American Association of Law Libraries

Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law by Stephen Elias
ISBN: 9780873375252
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

"In plain, readable English, Attorney Stephen Elias explains, with plenty of examples and instructions, how to read and understand statues, regulations and cases, evaluate cases for their value as precedent, use all the basic tools of legal research, and practice what you've learned with 'hands-on, library exercises, as well as hypothetical research problems and solutions.'"

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

LII's Eye on the Courts
Newsworthy Decisions Available on the Net hosted by Legal Information Institute, Cornell University
Washburn University: Legal Research on the Web
Government materials database list created by Washburn University School of Law. Washburn developed the legal research portal WashLaw (see background at https://washburnlaw.edu/news/2013/10/washlaw.html and https://washburnlaw.edu/prospective/technology.html)

Legal Handbooks and Guides

Black's Law Dictionary by Bryan A Garner; Henry Campbell Black
Call Number: REF KF156 .B53 1999
ISBN: 0314241302
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Jeffrey Lehman; Shirelle Phelps
Call Number: REF KF 154 .W47 2005
ISBN: 0787663670
Publication Date: 2004-08-27
This set gives a general overview of federal and state law, including historical and social issues.

Subject Librarian

Sally Neal

she/her

Contact:

I am the subject librarian for:

CCOM: Strategic Communication, Journalism, Sports Media, Esports, Exploratory Communication; LAS: English, Exploratory Studies.

Temporary contact for: Philosophy & Religion, Political Science

Schedule an appt. with me for research support in these disciplines.

109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
sneal@butler.edu

Neal Library Instruction Evaluation

Subjects: Communication, English, History, Anthropology and Classics, Journalism, Sports Media

Report an Access Problem

Use this button to report any problems with the online resources listed in this guide (databases, ebooks, broken URLs, etc.)

U.S. & International Legal Resources: Home

Welcome

General Online Resources

Legal Handbooks and Guides

Subject Librarian

Report an Access Problem

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS