Please complete the tutorials linked below to help you become familiar with resources you will be using for your group research assignment.
OPTIONAL TASK: If you have never used Butler business databases and LibGuides or need a refresher, you are strongly encouraged to review the tutorial and LibGuide linked below.
For the quiz, you will need to know how to find and access databases from the Library website, including how to use the Business Database Help LibGuide to match a database with a specific information need.
TASK: You will find detailed information on companies in research databases. Review the presentation linked below to learn about Butler databases for company research. Then practice looking up a company in the databases.
*For the quiz, you will be asked to find specific information for a public company by using one of the four databases covered in the tutorial.
Part of company research is learning more about the industry in which the company operates. For example, if you are researching Kroger, it would be helpful to know more about the overall grocery store industry.
TASK: Complete the IBISWorld tutorial below to learn how to find an industry report. Tip: This tutorial usually works better in the Chrome browser.
*For the quiz, you will be asked to find specific information in an industry report from the IBISWorld database.
Consumer research will help you learn more about a company's target market, including media and buying habits. Resources for consumer research may include market reports and survey results to help you plan a marketing strategy.
TASK: Complete the Mintel Reports tutorial linked below. *For the quiz, you will be asked to find and review a Mintel report to find information about consumers of a specific product.
You will be reviewing a company's website as part of your research. If the company is public, you should look at the "Investors" section on the website to find press releases, the Annual Report to Shareholders, and reports filed with the US Securities Exchange Commission (SEC). Even if the company you are researching is not public, you can use the SEC reports for a competitor or supplier to find information on the industry in which the company operates.
TASK: Complete the the tutorial below to learn how to access and use the SEC filing known as the Form 10-K. *For the quiz, you will be asked to review a Form 10-K to find specific information about a public company's operations.
The OPTIONAL Practice Quiz is not graded, but it will help you prepare for the graded in-class quiz. Both the practice quiz and the in-class quiz will have a total of five (5) multiple choice questions. To find the correct answer to each question, you will need to know how to access and use the resources covered in the tutorials. These resources include:
You will find the Practice Quiz in the MK 380 Library Research Resources module on your Canvas course site.