LibGuides: PO201: Political Science Research & Analysis: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the LibGuide for PO201: Political Science Research & Analysis. Choose from the topics in the tabs across the top of this window.

The Butler University Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. Most political science books are found in the J and K areas.

Butler University Political Science Department

Class Slides 2/5 & 2/6

Bibliographies and Guides

Political Science Research in Practice (print)
JA86 .M34 2012
Political Science Research Methods (print)
JA71 .J55 2008
Political Science Student Writer's Manual (print)
JA86 .S39 2012

Getting Started

Plagiarism LibGuide
Explains what plagiarism is and how to avoid it
Quick Reference
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Biographical Resources, and more

Core Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

Print Indexes and Citation Guides

New York Times Index (1913-2005)
ANNEX AI 21 .N441

Social Sciences Index (1974-2006)
ANNEX AI 3 .S611

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
REF LB 2369 .G53 2009

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010

Chicago Manual of Style
REF Z 253 .C571

Subject Librarian

Sally Neal

she/her

Contact:

I am the subject librarian for:

CCOM: Strategic Communication, Journalism, Sports Media, Esports, Exploratory Communication; LAS: English, Exploratory Studies.

Temporary contact for: Philosophy & Religion, Political Science

Schedule an appt. with me for research support in these disciplines.

109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
sneal@butler.edu

Neal Library Instruction Evaluation

Subjects: Communication, English, History, Anthropology and Classics, Journalism, Sports Media

Library Workshops

Report an Access Problem

Use this button to report any problems with the online resources listed in this guide (databases, ebooks, broken URLs, etc.)

PO201: Political Science Research & Analysis: Home