Research Guides (LibGuides): Topic Selection & Development: Topic Selection

Topic Ideas

Lightbulb with "Idea" written in it Sometimes being given the chance to choose a topic can be more difficult than having one assigned. Here are some thoughts to guide you through the topic selection process:

Does your assignment have any guidelines/restrictions?
What do you want to learn about? What interests you?
- Is there anything interesting related to the topic of the course, course readings, discussions, etc?
- Anything related to your major or career goals that could tie in?
- Anything that you are curious or passionate about?

The resources on the next few tabs are great for sparking ideas. Check them out!

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.

Gallup
"Combining more than 75 years of experience with its global reach, Gallup knows more about the attitudes and behaviors of the world's constituents, employees, and customers than any other organization."
Pew Research Center
Contains surveys and reports produced by Pew Research from 1987 to the present.

U.S. News
This LibGuide page lists news agencies, newspapers, magazines, media, and more.
State & Local News
Newspapers and TV/radio stations for the Indianapolis area.
Google Trends
Shows the latest hot searching terms from Google.

Get to Know your Topic: Background Information

In addition to some general googling and reading Wikipedia articles, we suggest you search through the resources below. They focus on academic reference - perfect for background knowledge from trustworthy sources.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 400 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO) This link opens in a new window
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online includes the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and other multidisciplinary research tools.

Questions?

Go to the LibAnswers page to search Butler Libraries' FAQs or ask a question through the Information Commons' chat service.

Topic Development

Video Credits: NSCU Libraries (Anne Burke: Project Lead, Scripting, Storyboards; Kim Duckett: Team Lead; Daria Dorafshar: Graphics and Animation; Mara Mathews: Narration; Jason Evans Groth: Audio Production; Andreas Orphanides: Writing, Editing, Technical Infrastructure; Sarah Craig, Jennifer Garrett, Adrienne Lai: Additional Writing and Editing.) Used under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0.

Mind Mapping Tools

Popplet
A great tool for brainstorming and concept mapping. Allows you to customize and add images and media, or collaborate on a board with others. You can create an account and use Popplet for free on the web. There is an app available for a small fee.
Bubbl.us
A straightforward brainstorming tool. Requires you to create an account before being able to save. The free account will allow you to store 3 mind maps at a time.
Easelly
This tool also creates infographics, but it will work if you want to try and visually organize your thoughts. Create a free account and log in to be able to save your work.

Topic Selection & Development: Topic Selection

Topic Ideas

Get to Know your Topic: Background Information

Questions?

Topic Development

Mind Mapping Tools

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS