Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Books on The Sixties
The Encyclopedia of Sixties Cool by
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
A celebration of the 1960s, this encyclopedia profiles the 250 most interesting personalities who significantly changed popular culture, including musicians, actors, directors, artists, athletes, politicians, writers, and astronauts.
The 1960's Counterculture in America by
Call Number: E169.02 .H3515 1997
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Broadly defining the counterculture as any cultural or political challenge to mainstream values and practices of the day, Hamilton traces the counterculture's spread across America, far beyond its San Francisco Bay Area origins. He also examines the sweeping changes in the period's music, art, clothing, language, and personal practices.
How to use this Guide
Welcome to the LibGuide created for the First-Year Seminar: The Sixties! I'm happy to help you with your research. Please let me know when you have questions by contacting me via IM, phone, or e-mail (to the right).
The tabs above link you to the databases and resources that you may find helpful in assembling cultural and critical information for your presentation. Keep in mind while these scholarly resources are recommended, you may find great material on the open web. However, we will want to make sure we're choosing the best materials by doing some critical analysis of what we find.
In the Library
For our library activity, you'll be going to these four resources and examining what you find. We'll talk about the kinds of terms we'll want to use in our search and then get started searching each of these.
After you do a search, and find results, you'll look at where it was published, and the author and publisher.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.