FYS 101: The Power of Everyday Stories (Mould)

Follow the link above to view the complete list of databases available through the Library. The list below is a selection of databases (findable through the above link or via a Google search) that could be useful in your research:

• Academic Search Premier
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE
• (these three are good for peer-reviewed articles in liberal arts and sciences)
• Alt-Press Watch
• Alternative Press Index
• Annual Register
• Atlantic Magazine Archive
• Biography databases—there are several
• Congressional Collection
• CQ Researcher
• Dissertations and Theses A&I
• Ethnic News Watch
• Google Scholar
• Government, Politics, and Law
• GreenFILE
• HeinOnline
• Life Magazine
• Military and Government Collection
• Opposing Viewpoints in Context
• Point of View
• Time Magazine (through 2000)
• US History in Context

Follow the link above to find the current listing of newspapers available online through the Library (From the library website, click the Databases button, look in the right-hand column, and select Newspapers).  Below are some of the most useful newspapers and newspaper databases for this class, given the timeframe of the assignment; the databases range from local to US to international newspapers, news wires, and news magazines:

• Indianapolis Star/News 1991-present
• New York Times Historical (to 2013)
• New York Times Site License—use this to register for a personal subscription
• Newspaper Source Plus
• Newswires
• Nexis Uni
• Press Reader
• Wall Street Journal

Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings to locate speeches, both as text and as visual recordings; Google and YouTube can also be useful sources of video of recent speeches.  Less recent speeches may be included in some of the library film and video databases.