LibGuides: FYS: Fairy Tale, Self, and Society (Jorgensen): Finding Books, Articles, and More

Searching "Everything" at one time

Although these will not really search everything, these tools will search for many books, articles, and more all with one search:

WorldCat Discovery
Use either the link above or the search box on the library home page to search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Configuring Google Scholar for Butler
Instructions for configuring Google Scholar to add the Find it at Butler Univ! links to search results when you are off campus

eBooks

Articles and More

Here are examples of databases that might be of help for your assignments relating to the topic of this course:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

Some examples of databases with sports, medical, and science content are shown below.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications about the natural sciences.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society (ACS) This link opens in a new window
Search all journal titles available via the American Chemical Society simultaneously. They can also be searched individually or in groups.

For more options, please see Butler Databases (By Subject)

eBooks on Fairy Tales

A listing of some eBooks on Fairy Tales is available at this link

Find Full Text button

Don't give up if you don't see an icon for the full text!

Click on the Find Full Text button to see if the library does have full text access to the item or if it is freely available. (example)

Please remember that you can use Interlibrary Loan to get articles in a few days (or books in about a week), if they are not available through the Butler Libraries.

Reference Sources

Reference materials, in print, are available in the Library Reference Collection.

Online reference sources are listed below:

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) This link opens in a new window
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online includes the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and other multidisciplinary research tools.

FYS: Fairy Tale, Self, and Society (Jorgensen): Finding Books, Articles, and More