Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS: Fairy Tale, Self, and Society (Jorgensen): Tools and Help

Course Guide for Fairy Tale, Self, and Society FYS course

Comparison of Tools for Searching and Help

 

Library Website

library homepage

LibGuides

libguide example

WorldCat Discovery

WorldCat Search Box

Library Databases

database logoslogologologologo

Google Scholar

Scholar logo

Information about the library and links to library search tools and other resources

Search box for the catalog (WorldCat Discovery)

Online guides to using the library and library resources

Can cover a course or a topic

May include search tips,  recommended databases on a topic, links to relevant websites, and more

Search tool to find the physical items in the library collection (books, CDs, DVDs, and more) as well as ebooks and some of the journal articles and streaming content included in library databases

Contains records describing the items and information/links to access materials

Records describing articles and other content found in library databases may be very brief – for example, they may not include subject information

Searchable collections of (often detailed) records for articles, books, streaming music and videos, and more as well as links to access materials

Many cover a specific discipline (music, education, business, biology, literature, etc.) or format (ebooks, streaming videos, newspapers, etc.) 

May include the actual content, in addition to records describing the content

Subset of the information found in Google

Can be used to search for scholarly articles, books, and reports

 

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter