Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skyline of Indianapolis (photo in Public Domain)
For the place you choose, your Professor has asked you to address the following:
- Culture & History
- Physical Geography
To gain a deep view of the place you select, consult a variety of sources, including:
- History and other Academic books
- Novels and Short Stories
- Academic (Scholarly) Journal Articles
- News articles
- Films & Television Shows
Worldcat (Library catalog): Use the Advanced Search option, and see the Worldcat search tips below. *Other options for finding books are linked under the tips--scroll to the bottom to find them.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
- In addition to the name of a city or state, try these key subject terms: small cities, suburbs, cities and towns, city and town life, community life, rural-urban migration, neighborhoods, metropolitan areas, urban renewal, state fiction, city fiction. Also try combining state and city names and key terms such as economy, culture, politics, etc.
- Try the Advanced Search option, and search by by Subject for more focused results. ex: su:cities and town
- You can look for books worldwide and get them from another library using free interlibrary loan. If you need information right away, limit the results to "Butler University Libraries."
- Use the Format option to limit results to Books or another type of source
- Note: You can also identify books by using one of the free websites below, and then look up the titles in Worldcat to find a copy.
Reading American Cities
For larger or well-known U.S. cities. If you find a book you like, look it up in Worldcat (library catalog).
Novels set in the United States--by City
Wikipedia listing. To get a copy of a book on this list, look it up in Worldcat.
Search to find books related to place you chose. May include just sample pages. Find complete book by using Worldcat.
ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – have automatically converted to unlimited access for that period,
- Use the "Advanced Search" option in databases to help you combine keywords.
- Databases will assign "subject terms" to articles. If you find a great article, use the subject terms listed with the article as leads. Example: "cities and towns" is a helpful subject term phrase for your research.
- Use the database's thesaurus and list of publications to identify key search terms and publications on your topic.
- Timesaver: Use database tools to refine or narrow your search results by date, by subject, by publication, etc. The limiter tools are often found in the left column of the search results page.
- Try searching multiple databases at one time (ex: EBSCO databases).
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Regional Business News
This database provides coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Newspaper Source Plus
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Access to 7000 newspapers and magazines, including international sources.
Sites with statistics on a city's population, income, households, businesses, and more.
- Look for local economic development sites or a state data center website. Many data centers are hosted by universities.
- For articles related to a city's economy, see local newspapers and business magazines (see the Academic/News article databases listed on this LibGuide).
Use the websites below to find films and TV shows about your "place." Also try the film databases at the bottom of this page. Tip: If you do not find a film/TV show related to a specific city, expand your search to a metro area, state, or region. Or look for films/TV shows using keywords: "cities," "towns," "urban," "rural," etc.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
Student Resources in Context
A fully integrated database containing thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of over 1,000 magazines, newspapers, over 20,000 photographs and illustrations, and more than 8 hours of audio and video clips. Includes Student Resource Center-Health Module.
U.S. History in Context
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Use mainly for the References section at the end of the Wikipedia entry to find leads to books and articles. Check dates and authors!
TIP: Try a Google search to find a LibGuide on a city; it may have links to local news, history, politics, etc. Search using a key phrase (ex: "local politics"), combined with the city name and the word "LibGuide." Example: "local politics" Chicago LibGuide
Google is also helpful for finding websites for state historical societies and economic development centers.
TRY THESE TIPS FOR BETTER GOOGLE SEARCH RESULTS!
1. Use the Advanced Search option in Google. This allows you to get more specific search results because you can select filters such as dates, file types (ex: ppt), and domains (ex: .edu). You will find the Advanced Search option under "Settings" on the Google basic search screen.
2. Use the Search Tools option that appears below the search box on the results page. This allows you to narrow or refine your results.
3. When searching for business information, try combining your keywords with words such as "report" or "study" to learn about research conducted on your topic.
4. Find trade or professional associations by adding the word "association" to your business keyword search.
See the table below for other shortcuts you can use in a Google search to refine your results.
Research as Conversation
Research as Conversation