Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skyline of Indianapolis (photo in Public Domain)
For the place you choose, your Professor has asked you to address the following:
- Culture & History
- Physical Geography
To gain a deep view of the place you select, consult a variety of sources, including:
- History and other Academic books
- Novels and Short Stories
- Academic (Scholarly) Journal Articles
- Newspapers, including City or Business Publications
- Government Reports
- Market Research Reports
- Films & Television Shows
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Review this brief tutorial to set up your free ILL account. You can then request articles and books from other libraries at no charge.
Tip: Trying to identify your place? Use this link to find and review the eBook on "U.S. Cities & Communities"
Worldcat (Library catalog): Use the Advanced Search option, and see the Worldcat search tips below. *Other options for finding books are linked under the tips--scroll to the bottom to find them.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
- In addition to the name of a city or state, try these key subject terms: small cities, suburbs, cities and towns, city and town life, community life, rural-urban migration, neighborhoods, metropolitan areas, urban renewal, state fiction, city fiction. Also try combining state and city names and key terms such as economy, culture, politics, etc.
- Try the Advanced Search option, and search by by Subject for more focused results. ex: su:cities and town
- You can look for books worldwide and get them from another library using free interlibrary loan. If you need information right away, limit the results to "Butler University Libraries."
- Use the Format option to limit results to Books or another type of source
- Note: You can also identify books by using one of the free websites below, and then look up the titles in Worldcat to find a copy.
Reading American Cities
For larger or well-known U.S. cities. If you find a book you like, look it up in Worldcat (library catalog).
Novels set in the United States--by City
Wikipedia listing. To get a copy of a book on this list, look it up in Worldcat.
Search to find books related to place you chose. May include just sample pages. Find complete book by using Worldcat.
ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – have automatically converted to unlimited access for that period,
- Use the "Advanced Search" option in databases to help you combine keywords.
- Databases will assign "subject terms" to articles. If you find a great article, use the subject terms listed with the article as leads. Example: "cities and towns" is a helpful subject term phrase for your research.
- Use the database's thesaurus and list of publications to identify key search terms and publications on your topic.
- Timesaver: Use database tools to refine or narrow your search results by date, by subject, by publication, etc. The limiter tools are often found in the left column of the search results page.
- Try searching multiple databases at one time (ex: EBSCO databases).
EBSCOhost - Choose databases
Search multiple EBSCO databases at one time, including Academic Search Premier, Newspaper Source Plus, and Regional Business News
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Site with links to business newspapers in major metropolitan areas.
Sites with statistics on a city's population, income, households, businesses, and more.
- Look for local economic development sites or a state data center website. Many data centers are hosted by universities.
- For articles related to a city's economy, see local newspapers and business magazines (see the Articles databases listed on this LibGuide).
Use the websites below to find films and TV shows about your "place." Also try the film databases at the bottom of this page. Tip: If you do not find a film/TV show related to a specific city, expand your search to a metro area, state, or region. Or look for films/TV shows using keywords: "cities," "towns," "urban," "rural," etc.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
- TIP: Start with the RKMA eBook on "U.S. Cities & Communities."
- The Mintel, Passport, and Statista databases will be most helpful if you are researching a large metropolitan area.
Reports on consumer trends available for some U.S. cities. Type name of city in database search box.
Includes statistical profiles for 27 U.S. cities. Go to Economies menu and choose Cities.
See the report on "U.S. Cities & Communities"
If researching a major metropolitan area, look for a "Global Business City" report.
Research as Conversation
Research as Conversation