Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books - Butler Collections
Podcasting: the Audio Media Revolution by Born out of interviews with the producers of some of the most popular and culturally significant podcasts to date (Welcome to Night Vale, Radiolab, Serial, The Black Tapes, We're Alive, The Heart, The Truth, Lore, Love + Radio, My Dad Wrote a Porno, and others) as well as interviews with executives at some of the most important podcasting institutions and entities (the BBC, Radiotopia, Gimlet Media, Audible.com, Edison Research, Libsyn and others), Podcasting documents a moment of revolutionary change in audio media. The fall of 2014 saw a new iOS from Apple with the first built-in "Podcasts" app, the runaway success of Serial, and podcasting moving out of its geeky ghetto into the cultural mainstream. The creative and cultural dynamism of this moment, which reverberates to this day, is the focus of Podcasting. Using case studies, close analytical listening, quantitative and qualitative analysis, production analysis, as well as audience research, it suggests what podcasting has to contribute to a host of larger media-and-society debates in such fields as: fandom, social media and audience construction; new media and journalistic ethics; intimacy, empathy and media relationships; cultural commitments to narrative and storytelling; the future of new media drama; youth media and the charge of narcissism; and more. Beyond describing what is unique about podcasting among other audio media, this book offers an entry into the new and evolving field of podcasting studies.
Publication Date: 2019-01-10
Podcasting: New Aural Cultures and Digital Media by Podcasting: New Aural Cultures and Digital Media is the first comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of academic research exploring the definition, status, practices and implications of podcasting through a Media and Cultural Studies lens. By bringing together research from experienced and early career academics alongside audio and creative practitioners, the chapters in this volume span a range of approaches in a timely reaction to podcasting's zeitgeist moment. In conceptualizing the podcast, the contributors examine its liminal status between the mechanics of 'old' and 'new' media and between differing production contexts, in addition to podcasting's reliance on mainstream industrial structures whilst retaining an alternative, even outsider, sensibility. In the present tumult of online media discourse, the contributors frame podcasting as indicative of a 'new aural culture' emerging from an identifiable set of industrial, technological and cultural circumstances. The analyses in this collection offer a range of interpretations which begin to open avenues for further research into a distinct Podcast Studies.
Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Podcasting for Dummies by Produce a podcast like the pros Podcasting For Dummies offers a fast and easy way to get the know-how you need to produce and distribute one of your very own. This book shares insight on the technology behind recording, editing, and sharing podcasts, along with tips and tricks on how to produce a pro-level podcast.
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
For searching databases, type in these terms;
Terminology related to Podcasting
Archival Audio Collections
The database collections below, are archival audio collections. Consider how these audio collections of interviews, news reports, and story telling compare to modern day podcasting...
Digital Indy: The Indianapolis Public Library
Digital Indy, the Indianapolis Public Library's digital collections, provides access to digital images and recordings of cultural and historical interest to Indianapolis residents as well as students, researchers and others. The Library offers these collections to allow free access to digital versions of increasingly valuable, fragile and hard-to-use originals. Limit your search to recordings by selecting Format-Medium then audio,
Library of Congress - Audio Recordings
View the Gallery of collections with audio content included in the collection. Once you select a collection, navigate to Collection Items and select Audio to bring up just audio collections.
An ever-growing collection of oral interviews between family members and friends from diverse racial/ethnic, cultural, and economic backgrounds. StoryCorps’ mission is to preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world.
Naptown; Interviews with local author/journalist Dan Wakefield
This series of interviews was produced by Dr. Susan Neville, Professor in the Department of English here at Butler.
Voices from the Days of Slavery
The almost seven hours of recorded interviews presented here took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine Southern states. Twenty-three interviewees, born between 1823 and the early 1860s, discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. Several individuals sing songs, many of which were learned during the time of their enslavement. It is important to note that all of the interviewees spoke sixty or more years after the end of their enslavement, and it is their full lives that are reflected in these recordings. The individuals documented in this presentation have much to say about living as African Americans from the 1870s to the 1930s, and beyond.
VOCES Oral History Project
Voces Oral History Center is a Latino oral history archives. It began in 1999, with a mission of capturing untold stories of Latinos and Latinas who served, in the military or on the home front, during World War II. The archive has expanded to include the Korean and Vietnam Wars, and Political and Civic Engagement, focusing on the continuing fight for Latino civil rights.
Young Lords in Lincoln Park
“The Young Lords in Lincoln Park” collection conveys the ongoing struggle for fair housing, self-determination, and human rights that was launched by Mr. José “Cha-Cha” Jiménez, founder of the Young Lords Movement. In the 1960s the Young Lords brought out the question of self-determination for Puerto Rico on a mass, national level with the slogan, "Tengo Puerto Rico en mi corazon." This project is dedicated to documenting the history of the displacement of Puerto Ricans, Mejicanos, other Latinos, and the poor from Lincoln Park, as well as the history of the Young Lords nationwide. Recording, preserving, and making these memories accessible to teachers, researchers, and the community is the guiding aim of this project.
How to produce it!
Making a Podcast at Butler
Use this LibGuide to learn the tools and support available for making a podcast at Butler.
NPR Radio Training Guide
Hone your craft. Storytelling tips and best practices from the NPR Training team. Created for public media, open to all.
Assoc. Dean for Instruction & User Services