LibGuides: EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2021-22 (all sections): Economic Analysis

Economic Analysis Resources

Tip: The Passport database is an excellent resource for economic info for the total U.S. and selected cities. Also use Statista for economic reports. For help with databases, see the tutorials linked on this LibGuide. TIP: The "North America Regional Info" section in First Research has economic info by state. Also see the U.S. Business Environment reports under "Industry Reports" in IBISWorld.

First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window
SMA is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directories.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

U.S. Census Bureau--Topics A to Z
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Tip: See the Data by Topic menu and the "Economy at a Glance" section.
Census Bureau Economic Statistics
Butler LibGuide on Government Information Resources for Business Information
See this LibGuide for links to Federal, State, and Local Government Resources.
Outdoor Recreation Stocks
Public companies involved with outdoor recreation products and services (ex: Winnebago, Camping World)

Try the databases linked below to find general business news articles (ex: WSJ, Forbes, local business newspapers).

Tip: Try a Google search to find WSJ articles. Example: economy site:wsj.com

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Use the databases linked below to help you find articles from trade publications or links to trade sources.

Other Tips on finding trade sources:

Google industry keywords with the word "association." ex: "fast food" association
Find an industry report and look for links to trade sources in the report (ex: First Research report).
Use keywords to search a database and then filter results to trade publications. (ex: Business Source Complete database).

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.

Business Databases by Topic
Use this chart to help you find the best databases for specific topics.

EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2021-22 (all sections): Economic Analysis

Economic Analysis Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS