Getting out of the Rut: IDEA Toolkit for Arts Pedagogy

A directory of BIPOC playwrights of the 20th and 21st centuries with English-language works. In addition to filters by ethnicity and race, it ncludes a filter for LGBTQIA+ and womxn.

NEROPA is a new, unique method for reducing gender imbalance in scripts in a straightforward, systematic and low-threshold manner. It also encourages more diverse casting and a more open roles concept in script development.

The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field ... Global Shakespeares provides global, regional, and national portals to Shakespeare productions within a federated structure. As the archive grows, you will be able to view and study productions either in an environment focused on one area—Shakespeare Performance in Asia is the first of these—or in the context of world-wide Shakespeare production. The archive is a work in progress and currently includes a catalogue of more than 397 productions, 75 video clips, and online videos of over 30 full productions.

This toolkit is for anyone who wants to see a broader range of actors on our stages and in our rehearsal rooms. It features a mix of practical tools, inspiration, information and guidance.

WP Theater is the nation’s oldest and largest theater company dedicated to developing, producing, and promoting the work of Women+ at every stage of their careers.

Black Work Broadway is an evolving and comprehensive record of all the plays, musicals, musical revues, and other performances presented in Broadway houses, that were either written or created by Black artists.

The Black Plays Archive is an online catalog of the first professional production of every African, Caribbean, and Black British play produced in the U.K.

Black Theatre Matters is designed to be a liberal arts resource dedicated to supporting, documenting and celebrating the achievements of Black theatre artists throughout the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.

a search tool that seeks to make African American history more broadly accessible…794,792 items from more than 1,000 U.S. archives, libraries, and museums.

CTDA is a resource for Cuban theater and performance; a community repository for important Cuban theatrical materials; and a forum to foster scholarly communication in this field. It includes materials digitized and filmed in Cuba and outside the island as well as resources and information related to Cuban theater, with a special focus on theater produced by Cuban communities in the United States.

The Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (BDPI) is a project promoted by the Association of National Libraries of Iberoamérica (ABINIA) that has as its objective the creation of a Portal that serves as a single-access point for all the digital resources of participating Latin American libraries. The website, while in Spanish, has some pages translated into English, which facilitates easy browsing of the collections. These include (amongst others) manuscripts, maps, art, music, sound recordings, and incunabula and early imprints.

Lists resources for art, dance, music, and theatre regionally, by country, and internationally. [Ceased updating in 2015, currently maintained as an archive]

Since 1989, the National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures has delivered programs that stabilize and revitalize the US Latino arts and cultural sector via funding, leadership training, convenings, research, and advocacy.

This is the world’s largest presenter of Indigenous screen content. They are a registered charity committed to creating a greater understanding of Indigenous peoples and cultures through the presentation of contemporary Indigenous-made media art including film, video, audio and digital media. Best known for the imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival, they provide year-round programming and professional development to support indigenous creators.

Indigenous in Music and Arts is dedicated to celebrating the indigenous cultural arts and working to develop the educational improvement, economic opportunity and social advancement of indigenous communities and individuals who share these values.

This is a partnership of universities and community organizations dedicated to developing multiple visions of Indigenous peoples tomorrow in order to better understand where we need to go today. Through its four main components –workshops, residencies, symposia, and archive– IIF will encourage and enable artists, academics, youth and elders to imagine how we and our communities will look in the future. IIF is conducted by Aboriginal Territories in Cyberspace (AbTeC), a research network based at Concordia University.

The Contemporary Wayang Archive (CWA) is a collection of re-elaborations of Java's oldest performance tradition. All of the performances were recorded in 21st century Java. This archive includes translations, notes and explanations of how the performances were received in their original context.

This web-based overview can be used as a virtual textbook for university students as well as a handbook for general readers. With its search-by-word facility it also serves as an encyclopaedia of names and terms related to the Asian performing arts. Twelve countries are included in the present, second edition of this on-line material (India, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, China, Korea, and Japan). The focus is on the traditional forms of theatre and dance.

This library guide was developed at UC-Berkeley in 2018 as a starting point for researchers, community members, and students interested in Critical Pacific Islands Studies. It highlights resources from the UC Berkeley library collections but also provides links to materials found at other institutions and freely accessible elsewhere. This guide prioritizes resources by and for Pacific Islanders. 

Since 1983, A4 has sought to unify, promote, and represent the artistic and cultural producers of Asian Americans in New York City. They are a diverse alliance of artists, organizations, and arts supporters who believe that working together as a pan-ethnic, multidisciplinary community is essential to nurturing the development of artists and arts groups. They are the only service organization in the country dedicated to the professional development of Asian American artists in all disciplines.

Compiled by Alex Hadary, this bibliography of European language resources covers India, China, Japan, Korea, Indonesia, South and Central Asia, West Asia, Oceania (including Maori and Australian Aboriginal), and Southeast Asia.

thecoconet.tv is a hub for Pacific moving image content online. It was funded through NZ on Air’s Kickstart Digital Media funding program and is aimed primarily at Aotearoa’s burgeoning Pacific communities. thecoconet.tv is about prompting connectivity and conversations for Pacificans around the world.

This is a portal that provides a range of information about Japanese culture and art. It is designed to facilitate international cultural exchange with Japan by functioning as a gateway for such information so that art directors, producers, curators, coordinators, art management personnel, and other individuals involved in overseas cultural and artistic fields can obtain information about the industries and institutions associated with Japanese art and culture. The creation of this site was funded by the Agency for Cultural Affairs, and the site is administered by PIA CORPORATION.

SEADL exists to provide people with a wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. It contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Noor Theatre is an Obie-winning company dedicated to supporting, developing and producing the work of theatre artists of Middle Eastern, Southwest Asian and North African descent.

Scene Arabia styles itself as the Middle East and North Africa’s digital podium; this virtual platform provides an inside look into topics of the region from art and style, to business, social impact, music and and more.

With a focus on arts, culture, and literature, Sekka describes its mission as: "Taking inspiration from our name, which translates to a path that ties neighbourhoods together in Arabic, the stories we produce help foster cross-cultural dialogues between the Arab Gulf States and wider Arab World, and the rest of the globe. Sekka presents curious and inquisitive readers from around the globe with authentic insights into one of the most important, misunderstood and misrepresented regions in the international media."

A non-profit, UK registered initiative advancing the preservation of cultural heritage through the collection, documentation and digital archiving of Arab historical attire and their stories. Their goal is to empower and sustain global cross cultural dialogue to inspire creative minds.

ICWP began in 1988 in Buffalo, New York, with the mission of supporting and promoting women playwrights around the world and bringing attention to their works. They are a peer support group and provide information to members on a range of topics, including play opportunities, calls for scripts, and contests run by other organisations.

THE KILROYS are a collective of playwrights, directors and producers in LA and NYC who produce a list of new un- and underproduced plays by women, trans, and nonbinary authors.

The League of Professional Theatre Women (LPTW) is a membership organization championing women in theatre and advocating for increased equity and access for all theatre women. Their programs and initiatives create community, cultivate leadership, and increase opportunities and recognition for women working in theatre.

The largest and oldest international playwriting prize for women+ writing for the English-speaking theatre

WOW Café Theatre is a women’s theater collective in NYC’s East Village, which promotes the empowerment of women through the performing arts. Historically, WOW has been a majority lesbian woman’s space. WOW welcomes the full participation of all women and transpeople in solidarity with women.

WomenArts (formerly The Fund for Women Artists) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) arts service organization dedicated to helping women artists get the resources they need to do their creative work. Created in 1994 by Martha Richards, the organization has raised over $4 million and created a website that has provided free networking, fundraising and advocacy services to over 500,000 visitors a year for over twenty years. 

TheTheatreTimes.com is a non-partisan, global theatre portal. Since its launch in November 2016, it has published over 4,700 articles covering theatre in 90 countries and regions.

National Queer Theater is an innovative theater collective dedicated to celebrating the brilliance of generations of LGBTQ artists and providing a home for unheard storytellers and activists.

Plays by trans and gender nonconforming (TGNC) writers are a rarity in American theater. As transgender stories are co-opted, commercialized, and misrepresented by cisgender writers, Trans Lab fellowship supports the creation of a critical mass of TGNC plays by TGNC writers.

Launched in 2015 as a national initiative, artEquity provides tools, resources, and training at the intersection of art and activism. Their goal is to build a base of individuals and organizations with a shared analysis so they can contribute effectively to organizational culture change, sector change, and social change.

The glbtq project was founded in 2000 by Publisher Wik Wikholm to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online. The site grew to become the largest glbtq encyclopedia ever created thanks to the work of its editors and more than 350 contributors. The website also included a variety of essays, and a few interviews with contemporary figures. The website ceased updating in 2015 but the archives of the encyclopedia remain online.

The Music Division holds a wealth of information about many LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer) artists in its performing arts books and scores, special collections, online collections and exhibits, concert materials, and other writings. These documents include musical scores, correspondence, scripts, photographs, programs, scholarly texts, and other materials about their lives and careers. This guide brings together some of the highlights from these holdings, providing an opportunity to learn more about LGBTQ+ creators and to recognize and celebrate their artistic achievements.

Graeae is a force for change in world-class theatre, boldly placing Deaf and disabled actors centre stage and challenging preconceptions.