Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers and Magazines: https://libguides.butler.edu/az.php?t=32946
- Atlantic Magazine (begins 1857)
- Chicago Tribune—Historic Edition (begins 1849)
- Indianapolis Star (begins 1903)
- New York Times (begins 1851)
- Newspaper Source Plus
- Nineteenth Century Newspapers
- Wall Street Journal Historical Edition (begins 1889)
**Note: some of these newspaper databases may require a free personal subscription using your Butler credentials.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
History Databases (this list is not exhaustive; there are many more databases of use)
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics of the U.S. in five categories: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition with original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of archives.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Women & Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) This link opens in a new window
Intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
Historical Primary Sources Databases are listed and accessible here: https://libguides.butler.edu/az.php?t=32945