Research Guides (LibGuides): HST 305: Latin American Revolutions: Home

Tutorial

Primary & Secondary Sources

Primary Source
Secondary Source

"The raw materials of history — original documents and objects which were created at the time under study."

Primary Sources are created during the time of study

Examples:

Newspaper or magazine articles
Books, pamphlets, government documents
Diaries, letters, manuscripts, speeches, interviews, relics, artifacts
Maps, archival materials, creative works
Art, visual materials, music, sound recordings, videos

Source: Using Primary Sources by Library of Congress.. / Image Source: Primary Source Graphic by adstarkel. Used under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

"Accounts or interpretations of events created by someone without firsthand experience."

Secondary sources are created after the fact

Examples:

Publications (not 1st person perspective)
Journal articles
Books, textbooks
Histories, criticisms, commentaries
Reference materials, encyclopedias

Source: Using Primary Sources by Library of Congress.. / Image Source: Secondary Source Graphic by adstarkel. Used under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Library Catalog

Search Butler Libraries

Library of Congress Terms for Primary Sources

correspondence

personal narratives

Diaries

Interviews

History--sources

Posters

Speeches

Primary Source Databases

Primary Sources

Latin American Readers
Curated readers with mostly primary and some secondary sources published by Duke University Press. Volumes on most countries in Latin America DIRECTLY inked here.

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
Search by presidential administration; and then geographic or subject area. Sometimes also volumes for special events, like Guatemala, 1952–54; or Chile, 1969–73 (published 2014) and Chile, 1969–73 (published 2015).
National Security Archive
The "world's largest nongovernmental site" of governmental, declassified documents, used by journalists, scholars, and research centers. Collections include: Chile; Guatemala.
GovInfo
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1976-present)
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Presidential Libraries

John F. Kennedy Library

Additional Administration Libraries:

Harry S. Truman
Dwight D. Eisenhower Library
Lyndon b. Johnson Library
Richard M. Nixon Library

New York Times (Historical)
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.
Times Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive includes every page of The Times newspaper for more than 220 years.
PressReader
Access to 7000 newspapers and magazines, including international sources.

Web Search Strategies

Google Search on: Guatemala Revolution Primary Sources (date)

Google Search on: Guatemala Revolution Archives (date)

Ex. Guatemala Revolution Primary Sources 1944

Core Databases & Reference E-Books

Secondary Research Databases

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes international and interdisciplinary journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change
Ethnic NewsWatch
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner; Erick Detlef Langer
ISBN: 9780684315904

Publication Date: 2008-06-01

Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.
The Cambridge History of Latin America - Multiple V0lumes
ISBN: 9781139054232

Publication Date: 2009-05-28

HST 305: Latin American Revolutions

Subject Librarian

Report an Access Problem

Tutorial

Primary & Secondary Sources

Library Catalog

Primary Source Databases

Core Databases & Reference E-Books

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS