Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: Living Lives that Matter: Reflection in Action (Reading): Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the Research Guide for the First Year Seminars:

"Living Lives that Matter in the 21st Century: Reflection in Action" - both sections taught by Professor Reading.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Social Sciences with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 480 journals of philosophy and related fields.

Literary Criticism Databases - Critical analysis of a work

Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
A full-text database providing information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
It is a source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, character studies, author biographies and plot summaries of the most studied literary works.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.

Literature-Specific Databases - Scholarly Research Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 480 journals of philosophy and related fields.

General Readership, Trade & Magazine Articles

Consult these databases for book reviews and as primary accounts chronicling current events surrounding a literary work.

Readers' Guide Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides searchable full text for a broad selection of the most popular periodicals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
New York Times (Site License) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click the "Star" icon for instructions on how to register for an individual New York Times account.

This resource is provided by SGA, Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Butler University Libraries

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

[INSERT CATALOG RECORDS, LINKS, AND DATABASES HERE]