Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: Reality & the Imagination (Forhan): Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the Research Guide for the First Year Seminar: Reality and the Imagination

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To develop the capacity to think and write clearly, critically, and creatively
To introduce the student to effective habits for academic success
To reflect on important issues of the self, and in relation to local and global communities
To recognize and reflect on their own personal perspectives and biases
To learn and practice civil discourse in a constructive community
To learn to evaluate the quality, accuracy, and appropriateness of evidence

Butler Libraries (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.