Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS Worldmaking (Moore): Welcome!

Welcome to FYS: Worldmaking!

Welcome to the Research Guide for the First Year Seminar:

Worldmaking

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.