Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA Style Manuals
There are two different manuals for MLA Style Citations: the Handbook and the Style Manual. The Handbook was revised in summer 2016; copies of both the new 2016 8th edition and the older 7th edition are listed below.
MLA Handbook by
Publication Date: 2016
8th Edition. The authority on documentation in MLA style. Includes examples of in-text and works cited entries for multiple information formats.
Butler University Writers' Studio
For 30 years the Vivian S. Delbrook Visiting Writers Series has regularly hosted public readings and Q&A sessions with some of the most influential people in contemporary literature.
Vist the Writers' Studio for assistance with every stage of the writing process. Their website also has podcasts and handouts about getting started, writing an essay, and plenty of other writing tasks. Click on the icon above to learn more.
NEWS: MLA HANDBOOK RELEASES 8th EDITION
The Modern Language Association (MLA) released an updated handbook in summer 2016. Butler Libraries has copies of both the updated 8th and 7th editions in Reference.
The Purdue OWL has created a resource about changes with the release of the 8th edition (link below) Purdue's resources have been updated, as well as those provided by the MLA. Unfortunately, though, some citation generator sites and some of our database providers have not updated to the newest version.
Advice for students and scholars:
- Check with your faculty to see whether they expect MLA 7th or 8th edition.
- Make sure the online resources you are using (database/citation generators, guides) clearly state the edition of MLA that they are following.
- Consider ordering your own copy of the MLA Handbook, or trekking to the library to use the copy we hold in reference.
Modern Language Association
Answers frequently asked questions, including ones about how to cite recent information formats such as tweets and e-books. Additional resources are at https://style.mla.org/
Purdue OWL: Works Cited Page Basic Format
Explains basic formatting rules for your works cited page. Then, once you are ready to create a works cited entry for a source, use the menu on the left of the screen to select the right type of source (Books, Periodicals, Electronic Sources, Other Common Sources). This menu also includes helpful information about creating tables, PowerPoint presentations, and more.
Questions about integrating sources into your writing?