LibGuides: Government Information: Home

Purpose

The purpose of this LibGuide is to provide users of the Butler University Libraries access to a variety of resources that contain information pertaining to local, state, and federal government.

This guide was originally created by Emily Allen, Part-Time Reference Librarian from Jan. 2007 - May 2009.

Government Information

Finding government information can be rather challenging. The best way to use this guide is to locate the government office that would contain the information you need. If you are unsure of which office would be most appropriate, it may be better for you to search one of the general government websites on the main federal government tab.

Government Information Databases

Butler University Libraries offers a multitude of online databases containing resources that are helpful when searching for government information.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1976-present) This link opens in a new window
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Columbia International Affairs Online

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.

Subject Guide

Information Commons

Email Me

Contact:

Call: 317-940-9227
Text: 317-758-3551
Or stop by Irwin Library: we are located at the Information Commons desk on the first floor and in the Center for Academic Technology offices on the third floor.

Government Information: Home

Purpose

Government Information

Government Information Databases

Subject Guide

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS