Research Guides (LibGuides): Industry Research: Databases/Websites

Databases & Websites

Industry financials and norms may be found in a variety of sources, including print directories and online databases.
When you find industry financials, take note of how the information is presented. Look for:

The date financials were reported
The currency used (in thousands, in millions, in U.S. dollars, etc.)
Whether or not the figures are "estimates"
The NAICS or SIC code
The source for the financials

*BizMiner, First Research, and IBISWorld provide financial norms by industry.

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
BizMiner provides financial and market reports for thousands of U.S. industries at the state, metro, county, or zip code level. Use BizMiner to find financial benchmarks, business startup trends, and more.
First Research (via Mergent Intellect) This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles. NOTE: To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
First Research (via Mergent Intellect) This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles. NOTE: To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Industry Research

Databases & Websites

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS