LibGuides: Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences: Home

Health Sciences Librarian

Brittany Heer

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Heer Evaluation

Science Library
LFH200B1

317-940-8550

Subjects: Communication, Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Questions? Ask Butler Libraries

Butler Libraries: Irwin Library, Science Library, and Education Resource Library

For immediate assistance, chat with the Information Commons desk.

To contact the librarian that supports the discipline or subject area covered by this LibGuide, email Sally Neal, Head of Instruction, sneal@butler.edu.

Check the Butler Libraries' website for regular semester hours and holiday and break hours.

Email: infocommons@butler.edu
Phone: 317-940-9227

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences Databases

The following databases will lead you to journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, books chapters, etc. in the communication disorders subject area. While Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome Online (ComDis) is the core database, the interdisciplinary nature of this subject area warrants the other databases pertinent as well.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
ComDisDome (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome Online) This link opens in a new window
ComDis Dome provides access to information in the fields of audiology and speech-language pathology. The database includes books, journal articles and dissertations, as well as professional resources such as institutions, and web sites, scholars, and grants.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Visual Anatomy Database/App

Visible Body Websuite This link opens in a new window
Visible Body is a group of online programs covering anatomy and physiology through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes.
After clicking the access URL, click the "Don't have Account? Sign Up" link to register for a personal user account. After signing up for a personal account, login to Visual Body with credentials you set up during the registration.

Professional Associations

Professional Associations not only can provide career path support but are themselves good places to find overview information, reports, and data concerning Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences.

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
the professional, scientific, and credentialing association for more than 130,000 members and affiliates who are speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and speech, language, and hearing scientists in the United States and internationally.
Indiana Speech-Language-Hearing Association
this statewide organization supports its members in the provision of quality services through advocacy, professional development, and public awareness.
National Student Speech Language Hearing Association
professional development geared directly to students!
American Academy of Audiology
is the world's largest professional organization of, by, and for audiologists.

Top Journals in SLH

The ASHA Leader Online - Good TOPIC SELECTION site!! A current awareness news magazine; consult to keep current in the field and to follow hot topics.

American Journal of Audiology

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology

Language, Speech, & Hearing Services in Schools

Journal of Speech, Language & Hearing Research