Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography
Remember to use the Thesaurus (linked in the upper left) to help discover the Subject Descriptors the MLA uses to catalog articles. Also remember book chapters are indexed as well as journal articles - both of which can be requested via Interlibrary Loan if Butler does not have immediate access.
Journal & Magazine Articles
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
Literature Resource Center
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.