Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected books in Butler Libraries collections
Reclaiming Travel by
Publication Date: 2015-05-09
Reclaiming Travel is a provocative meditation on the meaning of travel from ancient times to the twenty-first century. In this powerful manifesto, Stavans and Ellison argue that travel should be an art through which our restlessness finds expression--a search for meaning not only in our own lives but also in the lives of others. It is not about the destination; rather, travel is about loss, disorientation, and discovering our place in the universe.
Bewildered Travel by
Publication Date: 2012-10-05
Travel is not merely a break from routine; it is its antithesis, a voluntary trading in of the security one feels at home for unpredictability and confusion. In Bewildered Travel Frederick Ruf argues that this confusion, which we might think of simply as a necessary evil, is in fact the very thing we are seeking when we leave home. Ruf sees our departures from the familiar as a crucial component in a spiritual life, reminding us of the central role of pilgrimage in religion.
Travel Writing by
Publication Date: 2013-08-21
Blanton follows the development of travel writing from classical times to the present, focusing in particular on Anglo-American travel writing since the eighteenth century. He identifies significant theoretical and critical contributions to the field, and also examines key texts by James Boswell, Mary Kingsley, Graham Greene, Peter Mathiessen, V.S. Naipaul, and Bruce Chatwin.
How to use this Guide
Welcome to the LibGuide created for the First-Year Seminar: The Wanderlust Project! I'm happy to help you with your research. Please contact me with any library or research questions (options listed on the right).
The tabs above link you to the databases and resources that you may find helpful in assembling secondary sources for your work in this course. Keep in mind while these scholarly resources are recommended, you may find great material on the open web. However, we will want to make sure we're choosing the best materials by doing some critical analysis of what we find.
In the Library
For our library activity, you'll be using one of the four resources below to try out some searching. We'll talk about the kinds of terms we'll want to use in our search and then get started searching each of these.
FYS In-Class Library Activity 11/4/21
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.