Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middle Ages Lit Resources
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
LexisNexis Academic provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
Literature Resource Center
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
MLA International Bibliography
roduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Use the WorldCat Discovery Box to begin your search. You will find this box in the center of the Butler Libraries' homepage (www.butler.edu/library). This box allows you to search for holdings in the Butler Libraries and beyond and also searches the citations from select online subscription databases.
Once you have the results from your initial search, you can use the limiters on the left-hand side of the screen to narrow your results by database (including peer-reviewed articles!), online availability, format, or other useful criteria.
The Advanced Search mode will allow you to search for terms in specific fields (e.g., author, title, subject, etc.), select specific databases to search, and also limit by library (or library group), publication date range, and format.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Adultery on Trial: Martin Guerre and his Wife, from Judge’s Tale to the Screen by Source: Scarlet Letters : Fictions of Adultery from Antiquity to the 1990s 45-55. The case of Martin Guerre fascinated sixteenth-century French audiences high and low, with its questions of identity, transgression, recognition, and revelation. What happened? No-one really knows. Martin Guerre, who had abandoned his wife and son, returned after some five years away at war, a changed man, a good husband and worker. Four years later he was accused of imposture; his case went to trial, and he was condemned; he appealed and was about to be acquitted, given the judges’ overwhelming doubt in the face of a mass of conflicting evidence as to his identity, when, as the original record has it, there was a ‘miracle’: the ‘real’ Martin Guerre arrived. Although he seemed much less convincingly ‘himself’ than did the accused, judgement finally went against the accused who was sentenced to be hanged and his body then burned, to destroy all trace of his person and crime.
Call Number: Book chapter - request book via ILL
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Arthurian tradition & Chrétien de Troyes by " ...a comprehensive reference guide to Shakespeare and women. An A-Z of over 350 entries explores the role of women within Shakespearean drama, how women were represented on the Shakespearean stage, and the role of women in Shakespeare's personal and professional lives. Women in Shakespeare examines in detail the language employed by Shakespeare in his representation of women in the full range of his poetry and plays and the implications these representations have for the position of women in Elizabethan and Jacobean society."
Publication Date: 1949
The Book of Margery Kempe by "Shakespeare's Theatre... is a comprehensive reference guide to Shakespearean playhouse practice. An A-Z of over 900 entries covers the practices of Elizabethan actors and playwrights; methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up. ...Shakespeare's Theatre reviews current knowledge of the character and operation of theatres in Shakespeare's time, providing an ideal guide to the original staging of Shakespeare's plays for students of Shakespeare at every level."
Publication Date: 2000-11-10
A Distant Mirror by Examines the history of fourteenth century Europe as background to the life of Enguerrand de Coucy VII, one of the most prominent French knights of that time.
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Gilliam on Gilliam by The author is a famously candid commentator on his own work, and in the interviews specially recorded for this book he reflects on how his Midwestern childhood and early career as a cartoonist and animator prepared him to make powerful, idiosyncratic films that are unlike anything else in contemporary cinema.
Call Number: Access via inter-library loan.
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Ingmar Bergman by "At a time when few reviewers and critics were taking the study of film seriously, Robin Wood released a careful and thoroughly cinematic commentary on Ingmar Bergman's films that demonstrated the potential of film analysis in a nascent scholarly field. The original Ingmar Bergman influenced a generation of film scholars and cineastes after its publication in 1969 and remains one of the most important volumes on the director. This new edition of Ingmar Bergman, edited by film scholar Barry Keith Grant, contains all of Wood's original text plus four later pieces on the director by Wood that were intended for a new volume that was not completed before Wood's death in 2010. In analyzing a selection of Bergman's films, Wood makes a compelling case for the logic of the filmmaker's development while still respecting and indicating the distinctiveness of his individual films. Wood's emphasis on questions of value (What makes a work important? How does it address our lives?) informed his entire career and serve as the basis for many of these chapters. In the added material for this new edition, Wood considers three important films Bergman made after the book was first published-Cries and Whispers, Fanny and Alexander, and From the Life of the Marionettes-and also includes significant reassessment of Persona. These pieces provocatively suggest the more political directions Wood might have taken had he been able to produce Ingmar Bergman Revisited, as he had planned to do before his death. In its day, Ingmar Bergman was one of the most important volumes on the Swedish director published in English, and it remains compelling today despite the multitude of books to appear on the director since. Film scholars and fans of Bergman's work will enjoy this updated volume."--Publisher's description.
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
Find DVDs owned by the Butler Libraries by searching via the WorldCat Discovery Search Box on the Library homepage. (Be sure to select: DVD under the Format limiter on the left-hand side of the initial search results page!)