Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Info About Frankenstein
The links below connect you with Butler Libraries' databases. Each of these includes different content - read through the description and select the one that most pertains to the info you want to locate.
Frankenstein is a good search term to begin with, but you may find the need to be more specific. You can narrow down your search by using the limiters built into the database or adding "and" with another good keyword (ex: Frankenstein and women).
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Cambridge Histories Online
This search does not bring back many resources, but there are some interesting reference chapters about Frankenstein and romantic irony, science fiction, and gothic horror.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content. Includes several films and film segments about the literary aspects of Frankenstein.
Database Banner Image: Photo by Crew on Unsplash
Our specialty biography databases are easy to use - just enter the name of the person you want to search for!
Search for Frankenstein and then select "Topic & Work Overviews" in the Content Types limiter box.
Cambridge Histories Online
Try searching for Romanticism - you should discover The Cambridge History of English Romantic Literature with tons of information about the time when Frankenstein was published. Each chapter is its own easily downloadable PDF.
The British Library: Frankenstein
Includes links to related articles and collection pieces. Fairly easy to browse through this content if you are looking for ideas.
The Shelley-Godwin Archive: Frankenstein
The Shelley-Godwin Archive provides the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, aiming to unite online for the first time the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers, and thereby document their works, life, and thought, including the development of many outstanding pieces of English literature and political philosophy.
Welcome to Biblion: Frankenstein
An exhibit from the New York Public Library, the second edition of Biblion explores the connections between Shelley’s time and our own, showing how the classics resonate throughout society and the breadth of NYPL’s offerings.
Keats-Shelley Associtation: Resources
This page lists resources, digital texts, and journals that may be of interest.
Indiana Humanities: Frankenstein
Thanks to a generous grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, Indiana Humanities is bringing to life an array of unique, fun and thought-provoking programs that invite Hoosiers to explore Mary Shelley’s remarkable novel, which turns 200 in 2018. This page details their various events and efforts.
Event from the Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics. Includes nearly two years work of highlighted posts and links, and a dedicated Twitter account.
Frankenstein200 is an interactive story experience, and a modern retelling of Mary Shelley’s novel Frankenstein. More than that, it gives players the opportunity to make things, explore science, and be participants in an unfolding story. Arizona State University has partnered with more than 50 science museums across the United States to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the publication of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. Free to play!
An international celebration of the 200th anniversary of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein for Halloween 2018 organized by the Keats-Shelley Association of America.
Books & More: WorldCat Discovery
The search below is WorldCat Discovery. Here's what you need to know:
- It will bring back all sorts of good stuff - books, ebooks, evideo, articles, etc.
- It's a large, flexible search - put in a title, author, or topic keywords
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
When you see search results, it will tell you what type of material the item is (book, ebook, evideo, etc). It will also will tell you whether it is held by Butler University Libraries. If you see something other than Butler listed (WorldCat Libraries or PALNI), this means we don't actually own a copy here - but we can likely get it for you! Learn more about our PALShare and Interlibrary Loan options.
After you make sure that the item is held by Butler University Libraries, you should be able to see whether it's currently available and where it is located. The students and staff at the service desks are happy to help you find items on the shelves. Learn more about our collection locations and borrowing policies.
On the search page you may notice some blue buttons to "View eBook" or "View full text." If the item is held by Butler Libraries, this button should connect you with the content online. If it does not:
- Sometimes links break or send you to the wrong page! If you can't get it to work, let us know.
- There is a lot of variance in our eBook collection - even among those that say "held by Butler Libraries." Some are eBooks we already own that will allow for immediate viewing or downloading. Some are part of our DDA program and can be purchased once you give your login to let us know you want the item. Even within the DDA program there are variances - some eBooks can be instantly purchased, some require approval from library staff (done during M-F business hours), and some may limit the number of simultaneous users. Bottom line: check out our eBook LibGuide and ASK your librarian if you have any eBook questions!