Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Frankenstein (Colavito): Research: Beyond Frankenstein

Created for the Dr. Colavito's fall 2018 FYS and EN390 courses.

Frankenstein AND

Databases, which include mostly articles and scholarly works

The links below and throughout this box connect you with Butler Libraries' databases. Each of these includes different content - read through the description and select the one that most pertains to the info you want to locate.

Frankenstein is a good search term to begin with, but you may find the need to be more specific. You can narrow down your search by using the limiters built into the database or adding "and" with another good keyword (ex: Frankenstein and women or Frankenstein and bioethics).

Young people with zombie makeup, Frankenberry cereal, the cast of the Munsters television show, and the poster for the 1931 film Frankenstein


Are a visual person? Frankenstein has been used in political cartoon depictions for a very long time. Historical examples are listed on the Frankenstein in Culture page from Franken Reads. For more current examples, try a simple Google image search. The fruitful search below used the search string: Frankenstein and "political cartoon"

‚ÄčGoogle image search results for Frankenstein and "political cartoons" yield a large number of cartoons with political figures cast as monsters or losing control of their creations.

Books & More: WorldCat Discovery

The search below is WorldCat Discovery. Here's what you need to know:

  • It will bring back all sorts of good stuff - books, ebooks, evideo, articles, etc.
  • It's a large, flexible search - put in a title, author, or topic keywords

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

Advanced SearchPowered by 

When you see search results, it will tell you what type of material the item is (book, ebook, evideo, etc). It will also will tell you whether it is held by Butler University Libraries. If you see something other than Butler listed (WorldCat Libraries or PALNI), this means we don't actually own a copy here - but we can likely get it for you! Learn more about our PALShare and Interlibrary Loan options.

Physical Content including books, DVDs and CDs, musical scores, etc. After you make sure that the item is held by Butler University Libraries, you should be able to see whether it's currently available and where it is located. The students and staff at the service desks are happy to help you find items on the shelves. Learn more about our collection locations and borrowing policies.

Online content including articles, ebooks, evideo, etc.

On the search page you may notice some blue buttons to "View eBook" or "View full text." If the item is held by Butler Libraries, this button should connect you with the content online. If it does not:

  • Sometimes links break or send you to the wrong page! If you can't get it to work, let us know.
  • There is a lot of variance in our eBook collection - even among those that say "held by Butler Libraries." Some are eBooks we already own that will allow for immediate viewing or downloading. Some are part of our DDA program and can be purchased once you give your login to let us know you want the item. Even within the DDA program there are variances - some eBooks can be instantly purchased, some require approval from library staff (done during M-F business hours), and some may limit the number of simultaneous users. Bottom line: check out our eBook LibGuide and ASK your librarian if you have any eBook questions!

Image Credits for the Page:

Pop Culture Images, left to right: Incirlik Zombie Attack by Tech. Sgt. Michael B. Keller. U.S. Air Force photo  |  Frankenberry by theimpulsivebuy. Used under CC BY SA  |  Munsters cast 1964 by CBS Television. Public Domain  |  Frankenstein by Charles D. Hall. CC BY SA. Database Banner Image: Photo by Crew on Unsplash  |  Research Consultation Image: Photo by Free-Photos. CC0Books & More Banner Images, top to bottom: Photo by Susan Yin on Unsplash | Photo by Fancycrave on Unsplash

 

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter