Financials for companies may be found in a variety of sources, including directories, databases and government or commercial websites. TIPS:
If the company is public, a good source for financials is the company's website. To find financial statements on a company website, look for headings such as "Investor Relations," "About Us," or "SEC Filings."
It is challenging to find reliable financials for private companies. Unless the financials were provided directly by the company, consider what you find to be "estimates."
When you find company financials, look for:
The report date
The currency used (in thousands, in millions, in U.S. dollars, etc.)
Whether or not the figures are "estimates."
The source for the financials (the company, the SEC, a directory listing, a database report)
BizMiner provides financial and market reports for thousands of U.S. industries at the state, metro, county, or zip code level. Use BizMiner to find financial benchmarks, business startup trends, and more.
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.
Morningstar is an investment database that provides information on stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and options. The database can be used to create a portfolio and conduct company and industry research.
